EntirelyPets Ratings and Reviews

Dog Bones(190)
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Tartar Shield Soft Rawhide Chews for Large Dogs (24 count)

Average Customer Rating:
4.684 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 out of 19(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tartar Shield Soft Rawhide Chews for Large Dogs (24 count)
Review 1 for Tartar Shield Soft Rawhide Chews for Large Dogs (24 count)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tartar Shield Chews work
By:Ann
Date:July 22, 2015
Pet:Dog
Breed:Labrador retriever
A friend gave me some to try and after several days, the tartar on my 2 year old lab's teeth started to flake off. The chews can be crumbly, but my dogs clean every crumb. Great for delaying a dental at the vet's office!
Review 2 for Tartar Shield Soft Rawhide Chews for Large Dogs (24 count)
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No broken teeth
By:Miss
Date:June 7, 2015
 fromDallas, Texas
Pet:Dog
Breed:Labrador retriever
I bought these on the recommendation of my dog's dentist. My yellow lab loves chewing on antlers which ended up breaking 2 of her molars resulting in surgery and removal . *please save yourself the money and your dogs teeth and don't let them chew on antlers* These rawhides are far softer on the teeth. Do last a long time? No. But, they do give her an opportunity to chew on something as a treat.
Review 3 for Tartar Shield Soft Rawhide Chews for Large Dogs (24 count)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment while self teeth cleaning
By:Doxiemom
Date:June 2, 2015
 fromVirginia
Pet:Dog
Breed:long haired dachshund
My dachshunds enjoy a half of a Tarter Shield every morning. I buy the large ones so that they can enjoy a bigger half. This product keeps their teeth clean from tarter; as I can't find the time or energy to brush their teeth every day. They like the taste, making sure that they clean up every morsel. I like this product so much that I purchased bags for my friend's dogs for Christmas presents last year.
Review 4 for Tartar Shield Soft Rawhide Chews for Large Dogs (24 count)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful product
By:Sue
Date:May 15, 2015
 fromPittsburgh, PA area
Pet:Multiple Pets
Breed:Labrador Retrievers
Both of our Labrador Retrievers love the Tartar Shield Soft Rawhide Chews. They anxiously await their chews when it is time for them. It has made a difference in the tartar on their teeth.
Review 5 for Tartar Shield Soft Rawhide Chews for Large Dogs (24 count)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Doctor Recommended
By:PibbleMom
Date:May 7, 2015
Pet:Dog
One of our 3 Pits has damaged teeth from prior abuse. He's fractured 3 teeth (2 canines & upper carnassial), all of which required root canals and crowns. The hardest thing he got to chew on was a bully stick. At his annual checkup last month, his dental vet said even those were too hard and were damaging his teeth, and recommended these chews to help maintain his oral health. I also give them to the others after brushing their teeth. Doggie dentists are expensive and the fewer trips to see him the better!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 6 for Tartar Shield Soft Rawhide Chews for Large Dogs (24 count)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A nice alternative
By:Kathi
Date:March 17, 2015
 fromColorado
Pet:Dog
Breed:Standard Schnauzer
I don't give these all the time, but when I do, the dogs love them. They are not your typical rawhide. This product is crunchy and the dogs really like them. I do think they help keep the tarter in check. I like to keep a bag around the house for an occasional special treat.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 7 for Tartar Shield Soft Rawhide Chews for Large Dogs (24 count)
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good, but a bit over-priced
By:Teisha
Date:March 3, 2015
Pet:Dog
We get a lot of different dental products for our dogs, and these are one of the many we've tried. Our dogs like them OK, but this package is a bit expensive for what you get (about $1 per chew, and they don't last long).
Review 8 for Tartar Shield Soft Rawhide Chews for Large Dogs (24 count)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These come highly recommended
By:Sadie
Date:March 2, 2015
 fromMesa, AZ
Pet:Dog
Breed:Basenji
These chews were recommended by our specialty vet dentist for one of my dogs who has had extensive dental work. BOTH of my dogs love them.....and now expect them every night before bed!! :)
Review 9 for Tartar Shield Soft Rawhide Chews for Large Dogs (24 count)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tartar Shields are great!
By:sueblittle
Date:January 31, 2015
 fromAustin, TX
Pet:Multiple Pets
Breed:German Shepherds and a Grreat Pyrenees/Aussie Shepherd Mix
My dogs love these. They were recommended by our doggie dentist--a vet specialist--who said these would be great to help keep the dogs teeth clean and would not make them sick like some kinds of rawhide can do. They are one of my dogs' favorite treats and their teeth really do stay much cleaner.
Review 10 for Tartar Shield Soft Rawhide Chews for Large Dogs (24 count)
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good for teeth
By:Lily's Associate
Date:January 25, 2015
 fromPasadena, CA
Pet:Dog
Breed:Akita/Belgian Shepherd mix
The chews help to keep Lily's teeth clean and avoid visits to the "CLEANERS".
Review 11 for Tartar Shield Soft Rawhide Chews for Large Dogs (24 count)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Dog Loves These
By:Anna H
Date:September 14, 2014
 fromPleasant Hill CA
Pet:Dog
Breed:Lab
My vet recommended Tartar Shield Soft Rawhide Chews for my 11 year old Lab after he had his teeth cleaned. They are now his favorite treat. I am so pleased to find them available at such a good price at Entirely Pets.
Review 12 for Tartar Shield Soft Rawhide Chews for Large Dogs (24 count)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dogs Love Them
By:mlpdogs
Date:July 25, 2014
 fromFort Smith, AR
Pet:Dog
Breed:mixed
These are nice large chews and my dogs absolutely love them. The only down side for me is that my dogs were able to chew them up so quickly.
Review 13 for Tartar Shield Soft Rawhide Chews for Large Dogs (24 count)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love these bones
By:J9
Date:May 10, 2014
Pet:Dog
Breed:Irish Terrier
Love that that are healthy for my dog plus when she chews them I don't have to be concerned that they are going to break or fracture a tooth. I wish they weren't so pricey.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 14 for Tartar Shield Soft Rawhide Chews for Large Dogs (24 count)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great dental treat
By:sec
Date:April 28, 2014
 fromNW Colorado
Pet:Dog
Breed:Australian shepherd
My vet highly recommended these soft rawhide chews for my 14 year old aussie. She absolutely loves them! These are easier on her teeth and are helping to keep her teeth and gums healthy. Our next puppy will immediately be given these soft chews. Great product!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 15 for Tartar Shield Soft Rawhide Chews for Large Dogs (24 count)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended by Veternarian
By:Water Dog
Date:February 5, 2014
 fromArizona
Pet:Dog
Breed:Portuguese Water Dog
My dog LOVES these chews and I believe they are helping to keep the tartar from building up on his teeth.
Review 16 for Tartar Shield Soft Rawhide Chews for Large Dogs (24 count)
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
They really do work!
By:KatieCola
Date:October 2, 2013
Pet:Dog
Breed:Great Pyrenees
We adopted our 5 y/o Great Pyr on August 17, 2013 and the vet recommended this product to help with the tarter build up. Not only does my dog love these, her teeth are pearly white a month and a half later. While the price is high, it does have the VOHC seal and it's much better than having to struggle with a toothbrush or have them cleaned by a vet with risky anesthesia. She "brushes her teeth" twice a day and enjoys it!
Review 17 for Tartar Shield Soft Rawhide Chews for Large Dogs (24 count)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Outstanding purchase!
By:Shell
Date:August 27, 2013
 fromArizona
Pet:Dog
Breed:Golden Retriever
I have served these to our Golden Retrievers for years on the advise of a canine dentist. They are enjoyed by everyone and work well. It is an outstanding product and I am happy Entirely pets carries them.
Review 18 for Tartar Shield Soft Rawhide Chews for Large Dogs (24 count)
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dental chews
By:CindyCU90
Date:June 30, 2013
Pet:Dog
Breed:Mix
Great product. Just wish there were more per bag and not so expensive. My dog has CUPS and good dental treats are hard to come by.
Review 19 for Tartar Shield Soft Rawhide Chews for Large Dogs (24 count)
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good product
By:2 poodles
Date:May 27, 2013
Pet:Dog
Breed:standard poodle
these chews are very much enjoyed by our poodles, sometimes the rawhide dental chews are very inconsistent in size and thickness, these are all uniform