EntirelyPets Ratings and Reviews

Cat Supplies(5,653)
Dog Supplies(14,104)
Dog Toys(3,161)
Harnesses(67)
Specialty(10)
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

The Surefit Harness (Black)

Average Customer Rating:
4.471 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
15 out of 17(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Surefit Harness (Black)
Review 1 for The Surefit Harness (Black)
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
original was wonderful!
By:Fox Mom
Date:May 30, 2014
 fromMarietta Ga
Pet:Dog
Breed:Wire Haired Fox Terrier
This is a well fitting harness good design, easy to put on, dog can't back out. The only downside is that this harness is now made by " Pet Safe" and the fabric is not as nice. One of ours has began to ravel after about a month (never been washed), so I will need to dispose of it and replace. Our original has been machine washed several times and still looks like new!
Review 2 for The Surefit Harness (Black)
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fully adjustable
By:Caranne
Date:February 28, 2014
 fromMillersville, MD
Pet:Dog
Breed:Schnauzer mix, Aussie mix
Finally. A harness that my terrier can't squirm out of. My little terrier rescue dog doesn't like to be confined and will try to squirm out of her collar or harness on walks. She's been successful on several occasions, which is an obvious safety concern. I've been able to adjust this harness so that she can't squirm out of it which gives me such peace of mind when I walk her. Also, the part of the seams on typical collars which I don't like to have next to my dog's skin is actually on the outside of this harness, so that I don't worry about any irritation to her skin. I also bought one for my larger dog, and it's working well for her, too.
Review 3 for The Surefit Harness (Black)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What I was looking for!
By:Pat
Date:January 29, 2014
 fromTexas
Pet:Multiple Pets
Breed:multiple
Sturdy, well made, and easy to use. Should last for many years.
Review 4 for The Surefit Harness (Black)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best harness for small dogs
By:JTH
Date:September 5, 2013
Pet:Dog
Breed:Pomeranian
We purchased one of these harnesses 8 years ago for our pomeranian, but I wanted a new one that looked "fresher" after 8 years of dog living. It was so hard to find this exact harness because I think they are discontinuing it. It is absolutely the best, easiest harness to put on the dog every morning. Just over the head and 2 clips and she's ready for the day. It is comfortable for her around her legs and neck because it can be adjusted several ways.
Review 5 for The Surefit Harness (Black)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Harness Ever!
By:Kate549
Date:June 17, 2013
 fromBridgeville, PA
Pet:Dog
Breed:Lemon Beagle mix
My lemon beagle has to have a good harness because when he pulls with all his strength it hurts his neck. So this harness helps when he is walking or pulling on the leash.
The other good thing is that this was on sale and we love sales!!
Review 6 for The Surefit Harness (Black)
6 of 12 found this review helpful.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Surefit Harness
By:Annette
Date:October 23, 2012
Pet:Dog
Breed:English setter
My girls needed a harness to do nosework but my old Premiere tracking harness was too big for them so I ordered two of these. They fit great and I love that they adjust so easily!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 7 for The Surefit Harness (Black)
6 of 12 found this review helpful.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Only harness I use
By:macmounts
Date:October 22, 2012
Pet:Dog
Breed:Shelties
I always buy Premier Surefit Harnesses for my shelties. They are quick & easy to get off and on. They are adjustable and comfortable and my dogs are very secure.
Review 8 for The Surefit Harness (Black)
6 of 12 found this review helpful.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Terrific product
By:Bev
Date:July 22, 2012
 fromNew York suburbs
Pet:Dog
Breed:toy poodles
The surefit harness is a terrific product
because it is soft enough and strong enough
and it won't hurt my pets.
I have used this harness for three dogs over
the last 15 years and I would not use any
other.
Review 9 for The Surefit Harness (Black)
9 of 15 found this review helpful.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Escape Artist No More
By:Rene
Date:July 7, 2012
 fromNew England
Pet:Dog
Breed:toy/mini poodle terrier
Before my human put me into this harness, I escaped from multiple other harnesses. It was fun for me, but scary for my human. I even managed to escape from this harness once after a well-meaning person thought the straps around my shoulders were too loose. My human put the straps back, and I'm Houdini no more! I wear this harness all the time, and it never interferes with my nap times. My human washes and dries it in those machines using a delicates laundry bag, and it still looks brand new.
Review 10 for The Surefit Harness (Black)
6 of 12 found this review helpful.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Fit
By:Teacher
Date:July 7, 2012
 fromWheaton, IL.
Pet:Dog
Breed:All American
I recenty purchased a Sure-Fit harness for tracking with my dog on the recommendation of my trainer. I really like how I was able to order one that fit her exactly and doesn't rub causing discomfort. Its sturdy buckles connect easily, too.
Review 11 for The Surefit Harness (Black)
6 of 12 found this review helpful.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nothing special
By:Wrigley
Date:May 2, 2012
Pet:Dog
Breed:Yorkie
I was looking for a harness that wouldn't chafe or scratch my 16lb Yorkie, but this harness had no protection from any of that. It was just like previous harnesses I had purchased, with the seams and hard plastic/glue exposed and rubbing against the dog's skin.
Review 12 for The Surefit Harness (Black)
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not What I Expected
By:Dorothy
Date:March 28, 2012
Pet:Dog
Breed:Beagle
I measured my dog around the chest before I ordered the Surefit Harness, and when it came, it Sure Did Not Fit. It was so large that no matter how much I adjusted it, it was too big for my dog. No instructions; difficulty to adjust without. Sent product back for refund.
Review 13 for The Surefit Harness (Black)
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great fit
By:Vicki
Date:March 4, 2012
 fromTX
Pet:Multiple Pets
Breed:Weinerimer/blue heeler
bought this harness for a 60 lb and stiil growing 9 month old dog..it is a great fit
Review 14 for The Surefit Harness (Black)
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect Fit
By:matgeek
Date:February 16, 2012
 fromCanada
Pet:Dog
Breed:Greyhound
After reading about these harnesses and how they were originally designed for Greyhounds, I decided to grab one to see if mine could get out... Several play sessions later and she's still tethered =)
Would recommend to anyone looking for a quality harness that fits well.
Review 15 for The Surefit Harness (Black)
5 of 8 found this review helpful.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super
By:flip@60
Date:February 11, 2012
 fromGrand Terrace, CA
Pet:Dog
Breed:Mix: Cavalier King Charles Spaniel with Pomeranian
When I bought this online, I was wary of quality, fit, how it goes on and off, and mostly, if it's a good change from the neck collar.
This particular harness was a good choice. My dog still needs to be held back on occasion, and he'd strain (to the point of coughing) on the neck collar/leash. The harness is a secure alternative, he adjusted to it fairly quickly, and the click-n-close fasteners on both sides of his body is very convenient. The dog doesn't wear this all the time; only when we go for walks, so he's associating it with good times...just as he does his leash. I just slip the front loop over his head, and bring the open ends through his front legs, around his chest and snap them closed at his back. Tail still waggin'.
The fit is a little snug...he's a mix of Cavalier & Pom so he is within the weight range for the XSmall harness, but he has a barrel chest, so there isn't too much room to spare in the UPPER loop of the harness. The lower (around his 'waist') has lots of room. We thought about exchanging it, but didn't because it doesn't restrict him, or hurt (he only does an occasional body shake to shift it now) and he is destined to loose weight (we all are...so we walk together :-)).
In short, it's a good harness. Sturdy, great stitching, quality fabric, no signs of wear with straining, and the dog is good with it. It seems to have been well tested and improved, we can enjoy this road-tested version. And we are ALL happy to be able to control the dog without doing damage to his larynx!
Review 16 for The Surefit Harness (Black)
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:Melody
Date:October 4, 2011
Pet:Dog
This harness is one of the easier ones to put on the dog and works well.
Review 17 for The Surefit Harness (Black)
11 of 14 found this review helpful.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
5 STARS for the SUREFIT-- ABSOUTELY!
By:ShetlandRose
Date:March 23, 2010
Pet:Dog
Breed:Shetland Sheepdog (Sheltie)
It was time to get my two Shelties new harnesses. There are many excellent reasons to use harnesses for dogs instead of collars. I have depended upon them for my dogs for 36 years. And the world the way it is, in dangerous situations I feel no dog can be trusted in a collar. If a dog panics they can (and will) slip from their collar and run. This I know from experience.
So I researched a number of the best-reviewed dog harnesses. What I wanted was a quality made harness that was sturdy yet soft, comfortable for the dog, simple to adjust, fit well, and easy to put on the dog.
My two top picks were the Premier Surefit Harness and the White Pine Outfitters Tracking Harness. I chose the Premier Surefit Harness because it measured up to all my requirements including the ability to buckle and unbuckle the harness from both sides. That was a big plus, so I won't have to lift up my dog's leg and put it through one side of the harness, which can be confusing when you're in a hurry and dogs don't really like it. This harness has 5 adjustment buckles, which is great.
I love the Surefit. Every day we use these harnesses and I am delighted that I bought them for my Shelties. I also have a (very energetic) Border Collie. Just to see how she would react, we had a sample fitting and walk with the Surfit. It was a breeze. She didn't fidget and swing around as she did with her other harness. I was pleased. Now I will be retiring her old harness to buy another Premier Surefit Harness for her. We will be a three Surefit Harness family! Wonderful dog product.