EntirelyPets Ratings and Reviews

Cat Supplies(5,653)
Dog Supplies(14,104)
Dog Toys(3,161)
Harnesses(67)
Specialty(10)
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Sam's Yams Veggie Rawhide Sweet Potato Chewz (1 lb)

Average Customer Rating:
4.829 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (123 reviews)
5 stars
109
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
0
119 out of 123(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sam's Yams Veggie Rawhide Sweet Potato Chewz (1 lb)
Review 1 for Sam's Yams Veggie Rawhide Sweet Potato Chewz (1 lb)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FABULOUS !!!!!!!!!!
By:29dogs1vat
Date:September 22, 2014
 fromMinnesota
Pet:Dog
Breed:Peke, jap. Chin., Chihuahua, pom,, toy Am. Eskimo,
Yes, we do have 29 dogs at our sanctuary......all small. We have used these treats for years and the dogs LOVE, LOVE, LOVE them.
Even though the chews are big we buy these because the price is so much more affordable. I simply bend a chew double and tear it into pieces.
I have spoken at length with this company. In my opinion YOU WILL BE HARD PRESSED TO FIND A MORE DEDICATED AND HIGH QUALITY COMPANY. The owner is a fanatic about quality and even travels to the places where their products are grown. This company has a variety of fabulous chews and many of the smaller chews are loaded with fruits.
The people who work at this company, many relatives of the owner, eat the chews themselves ......the ones with the fruits added to the sweet potato. I do too!!!!! They are a fabulous, nutritious, unsweetened snack loaded with good fiber and nutrition.
I spent 33+ years as a licensed health care provider and my focus was holistic health and wellness. If I am eating these along with the babies here when it is snack time you can believe I have confidence in this company. All the fruits are grown locally near the plant where these treats are made. The sweet potatoes are grown in another state due to climate.
Do your dogs a great favor........use these very healthy and tasty chews to improve their dental health and to add lots of nutritious foods to their diet.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Sam's Yams Veggie Rawhide Sweet Potato Chewz (1 lb)
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No "Rawhide"
By:mlb
Date:August 31, 2014
 fromManson, WA
Pet:Dog
I usually buy Sam's "big boy" chews, but I was curious about this product which is the same weight but about $5 cheaper. When I inquired about the difference, the c/s rep tried to tell me that they have rawhide in them, apparently not noticing (or not understanding) the quotes around that word. I tried to tell him there was no mention of rawhide in the ingredients list. He said he didn't have any control over that! So much for being informed about your products. So I went ahead and ordered a bag. Well, the chews are a lot smaller that the "big boys" and so are not as appropriate for my Rottweiler. I used them up by giving him several at one time but I now know why not to order them again.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Sam's Yams Veggie Rawhide Sweet Potato Chewz (1 lb)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of my dogs' favorite treats
By:zsty awc
Date:August 18, 2014
Pet:Dog
Breed:Australian Shepherd
Great chew treats. My dogs really love them. Nice alternative to other kinds of dental chews. These dehydrated sweet potatoes are crunchy and not a soft or mushy chew like many other dehydrated treats. Highly recommend them.
Review 4 for Sam's Yams Veggie Rawhide Sweet Potato Chewz (1 lb)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dogs Love Um
By:BJ
Date:August 14, 2014
 fromChandler, AZ
Pet:Dog
Breed:Cotton
Our little dog has a touchy gut...however these Yams Veggie Rawhide Sweet Potato Chewz give her a great chew biscuit to help clean her teeth and don't bother her little gut :)
Yes I would recommend them.
Review 5 for Sam's Yams Veggie Rawhide Sweet Potato Chewz (1 lb)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My dog loves these treats!
By:riseabove99
Date:July 14, 2014
 fromIllinois
Pet:Dog
Breed:Pitbull Mix
And they are a safe alternative to rawhide. My chewer eats them more as a treat than a chewy but I am sure a less aggressively chewing dog would work on them for a while!
Review 6 for Sam's Yams Veggie Rawhide Sweet Potato Chewz (1 lb)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great natural product
By:Ginger's Mom
Date:July 8, 2014
 fromOlympia, WA
Pet:Dog
Breed:Golden Retriever
Been giving my Golden Retriever Sam's Yams for 5 years. Good natural treat from USA with no artificial or chemical additives.
Ginger comes running for her 'yammies'.
Review 7 for Sam's Yams Veggie Rawhide Sweet Potato Chewz (1 lb)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My dog can't live without these
By:Dead Mike
Date:June 26, 2014
 fromhouston, texas
Pet:Dog
Breed:lab / sharpei
My sister had a bag of yam chews which her dog wouldn't touch, so she gave me the bag. Well, one taste of the yam chew and Benny was hooked. He now HAS TO HAVE a yam chew every night. He knows the routine, he comes around to me between 6-7 if I haven't given him one and starts nudging me.
Benny loves these, he is addicted. He won't eat all day until he gets his treat (dessert) first, then he will go to town on dinner. They are better than tree bark, for sure...
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 8 for Sam's Yams Veggie Rawhide Sweet Potato Chewz (1 lb)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our Dogs Love Them
By:garya
Date:June 25, 2014
 fromStratham, NH
Pet:Dog
Breed:English Springer Spaniel
These sweet potato treats are a bit larger treat then the fries but equally as healthy. You can break them in half if you want to give your dog a smaller portion.
Review 9 for Sam's Yams Veggie Rawhide Sweet Potato Chewz (1 lb)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this!!
By:GSP lover
Date:May 15, 2014
 fromAR
Pet:Dog
My pups eat this for min morning snack. My old pup had anuual exam few weeks ago, a vet told me she have nice tooth. I never brush or anything to her tooth, she just eat this for almost everyday.
Review 10 for Sam's Yams Veggie Rawhide Sweet Potato Chewz (1 lb)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great!
By:maryb
Date:March 27, 2014
 fromTulsa, OK
Pet:Dog
Breed:German shepherd Dogs
My dogs love these. And I feel good about giving them to them.
Review 11 for Sam's Yams Veggie Rawhide Sweet Potato Chewz (1 lb)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Treats EVER!
By:Kwright1216
Date:March 14, 2014
 fromNJ
Pet:Dog
Breed:Manchester Terrier Mix
My dog absolutely loves these to the point that he is uninterested in any other treats. I give him 1/day in the afternoon and he patiently waits day after day. They take him a little while to get through which is nice for a treat. Buying in bulk is not only necessary but definitively cost-effective as well!
Review 12 for Sam's Yams Veggie Rawhide Sweet Potato Chewz (1 lb)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love them
By:Joanne
Date:February 23, 2014
 fromNH
Pet:Dog
Breed:Shelties
The dogs love them and they are good for them too. What's not to love?!?
Review 13 for Sam's Yams Veggie Rawhide Sweet Potato Chewz (1 lb)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:2 girls
Date:January 20, 2014
Pet:Dog
Breed:2 rescues
Sams Yams and their carrot crunches are loved by my 2 girls...... As I've said in previous reviews I dehydrate my own treats for them and there are very few brands I trust to purchase for them. This is one of them. also - very important to me that they are MADE IN THE USA - Thank you!!!
Review 14 for Sam's Yams Veggie Rawhide Sweet Potato Chewz (1 lb)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great low protein snack
By:Alphamama
Date:January 15, 2014
 fromDurham, NC
Pet:Dog
Breed:Dalmatian
My Dalmatian is a stone producing male. He is on a low-protein diet so treat choices are limited. These are great for him!
Review 15 for Sam's Yams Veggie Rawhide Sweet Potato Chewz (1 lb)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:Wishbone Farm Schnauzers
Date:January 6, 2014
 fromMonroe, NC
Pet:Dog
Breed:schnauzer
Absolutely recommend. They are best either cut up for smaller dogs or terrific size for larger breeds
Review 16 for Sam's Yams Veggie Rawhide Sweet Potato Chewz (1 lb)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
love them!!!
By:lacosta5
Date:December 30, 2013
 fromrio rancho, NM
Pet:Dog
Works great at keeping teeth clean. Natural safe and they love them.
Review 17 for Sam's Yams Veggie Rawhide Sweet Potato Chewz (1 lb)
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Healthy Chewing Option
By:Bruiser's Mom
Date:December 20, 2013
 fromMaine
Pet:Dog
Breed:Boxers
We are looking for healthy chewing options for our dogs. These are made in the USA and are a great natural chew treat for my dogs. They love them! Only draw back, if it is a draw back, is that the chunks don't seem to digest fully and can be seen in the stool.
Review 18 for Sam's Yams Veggie Rawhide Sweet Potato Chewz (1 lb)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jack Russell loves them
By:sullivanjo
Date:December 18, 2013
 fromCLARKS MILLS PA
Pet:Dog
Breed:Jack Russell
My dog loves sweet potatoes so i thought I would try the sweet potato chewz. She likes treats she can spend a little time chewing on Sweet potato chewz were just the answer.
Review 19 for Sam's Yams Veggie Rawhide Sweet Potato Chewz (1 lb)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good and Chewy for Teeth
By:Mary
Date:December 13, 2013
Pet:Multiple Pets
Breed:Bernese Mountain Dog, Golden Retriever, Newfie
I like the fact that these are vegetable based and purport to be just one ingredient--sweet potatoes. My three dogs get a good dental workout on these rawhide-like treats, which aren't made in China. One of our three dogs seems to have food sensitivities so I'm confident that Sam's Yams are okay for her.
Review 20 for Sam's Yams Veggie Rawhide Sweet Potato Chewz (1 lb)
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not same quality as past
By:Martha
Date:December 9, 2013
 fromNew Haven, CT
Pet:Dog
My dog loves these sweet potato treats and I've ordered them several times. Previously the treats had a semi soft texture which could be broken or cut with utility scissors to make smaller pieces. This batch, the dried sweet potato treats are brittle and dry and when I break them in my hands I sometimes cut myself. Not sure why they're different this time....
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>