EntirelyPets Ratings and Reviews

Cat Supplies(5,490)
Dog Supplies(12,071)
Dog Toys(2,364)
Harnesses(73)
Shop Now At EntirelyPets
Shop Flea Collars or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

6-PACK Preventic Tick Collar 25"

Average Customer Rating:
4.655 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
28 out of 29(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 6-PACK Preventic Tick Collar 25"
Review 1 for 6-PACK Preventic Tick Collar 25"
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Beware of expiration dates
By:earl
Date:April 15, 2014
Pet:Dog
Breed:English Mastiffs
I have two dogs and have used Preventic collars for years. They are very effective. However, while the pricing of Entirely Pets is very competitive, the expiration dates are not. Recently, I purchased a 6-Pack and the expiration dates are such that 2 of the collars will expire before they can be used, and the others were at the end of their shelf life. So, beware and inquire about expiration dates before you buy.
Review 2 for 6-PACK Preventic Tick Collar 25"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EFFECTIVE! SAFE! CHEAP!
By:racindog
Date:December 31, 2013
 fromLouisville, KY
Pet:Dog
Breed:Belgian Malinois;Greyhounds; Mixed
I love Preventic collars. Simply put they are effective and IMO much much safer for the dogs than the alternatives. And the price is more than competitive. I have greyhounds and other dogs and it is even safe for the hounds. I was surprised actually at how effective they are too. Apparantly they are repulsive to ticks in some way because there were very few ticks that even got on the dogs for the collar to kill. Like I said me and the dogs love them.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 3 for 6-PACK Preventic Tick Collar 25"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
best tick collar out there
By:Kramerfoundation
Date:December 15, 2013
Pet:Dog
Breed:varios breeds from rat terrier to great dane and everything between
I have used this on pets to search dogs and it is, by far, the most effective tick collar out there. I have tried many of the much more expensive ones and they don't come close to the coverage of the preventic collar
Review 4 for 6-PACK Preventic Tick Collar 25"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Product Ever
By:Lorraine
Date:October 31, 2013
 fromAlabama
Pet:Dog
Breed:Doberman Pinscher
My vet recommended these collars. We have a friend and his dog had a lot of ticks. We gave him one and since then no ticks. Our dog and his dog are wearing their second collar.
Review 5 for 6-PACK Preventic Tick Collar 25"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome Product!!
By:Tambra
Date:August 5, 2013
 fromFair Grove, MO
Pet:Dog
Breed:Catahoula
We bought these collars on a recomendation from a friend. We were skeptical that they would work, but nothing else was helping and our dogs had SO MANY ticks! These collars really work!!! We have 3 Catahoula's and now we rarely find a tick on any of them!!!!!
Review 6 for 6-PACK Preventic Tick Collar 25"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great tick preventer
By:Dick
Date:August 5, 2013
 fromSouthern New Jersey
Pet:Dog
Breed:Greyhound
We've used these Preventic collars along with other products that are applied to our dogs' necks, and the Preventics are far more effective.
We are in a high tick area, and our dogs have gotten embedded ticks when we've used only the products applied to the necks. When we've used the Preventics, we see nothing but dead ticks on the dogs' beds. We have greyhounds and have never had a bad reaction.
Review 7 for 6-PACK Preventic Tick Collar 25"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of our better purchases.
By:sikiehound
Date:July 9, 2013
 fromDeltona, FL
Pet:Dog
Breed:Greyhound (6)
We rescue Greyhounds. Must be careful of type of collar used on them. Preventic collars are excelent. Last much longer than the advertised 3 months.Seldon, very seldom do we find a tick on the six Greys we have here at our house. Very, very satisfied with the purchase.
Review 8 for 6-PACK Preventic Tick Collar 25"
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
short expiration date
By:as
Date:July 4, 2013
Pet:Dog
I ordered the 6 pack to save money, but the expiration dates were all the same and the product will expire before I can use them all.
Review 9 for 6-PACK Preventic Tick Collar 25"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Preventic Tick Collars really work
By:Ninedogs
Date:June 21, 2013
Pet:Multiple Pets
Breed:dogs
The Preventic Tick collars do work, and they work for a minimum of 3-4 months. If you are having a problem with ticks, I would suggest this product. I have used them for years and have not had any problems with them.
Review 10 for 6-PACK Preventic Tick Collar 25"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Deal
By:Charles-Maine
Date:June 14, 2013
Pet:Dog
Breed:Border Collie X 2 and 1 mixed breed
They work and are much cheaper than our vet for the same product.
Review 11 for 6-PACK Preventic Tick Collar 25"
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Better than nothing
By:mwhitme
Date:May 22, 2013
Pet:Dog
Breed:Airedale
I answered that I would recommend this product but only because tick born diseases are such a dangerous thing. I don't like using chemicals on my dog but ticks are not to be messed with. I found the collar was fairly effective the 1st week it was on and after that it was less and less effective. I would say that 2 weeks was the maximum use that I felt it was helping my dog be safe from ticks. Maybe for city dogs it would be slightly longer lasting because they aren't exposed to the tick areas like my dog is. I track her but the rest of the time try to keep to mowed short grass areas.
Review 12 for 6-PACK Preventic Tick Collar 25"
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing
By:Eek
Date:March 6, 2013
 fromMN
Pet:Dog
Breed:Labs
We use this on the weekends when we are up at our cabin. I put them on on Friday and take them off when we get home....and store them in a plastic bag until the next weekend. They really work for ticks. We have a horrible problem up North but this really works. I haven't found any attached ticks on them since beginning the use of this in conjunction with Frontline Plus as recommended by an area vet.
Review 13 for 6-PACK Preventic Tick Collar 25"
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really Work!
By:Desert Run
Date:February 17, 2013
 fromAZ
Pet:Dog
Breed:mixed
These collars really do work! They do not smell like flea collars do. Easy to work with, size to dogs neck, cut excess and they are good to go.
With in 24 hrs. you notice the scratching stops.
Have purchased multiples and will purchase again.
Review 14 for 6-PACK Preventic Tick Collar 25"
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It works!
By:Dkremer
Date:February 6, 2013
 fromOrlando ,FL
Pet:Dog
Breed:Black Russian Terrier
This collar actually works. Just does not work for as long as said. 2 weeks tops!
Review 15 for 6-PACK Preventic Tick Collar 25"
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How to control ticks in Hawaii
By:Poodlelover
Date:February 1, 2013
 fromKaneohe (Oahu) Hawaii
Pet:Dog
Breed:Standard poodle
I live on the windward side of Oahu in Hawaii; this is the rainy, wet - but gorgous side with rain forest, orchids, and beautiful flowers. But along with that come termites, mold, and ticks. (But no fleas - go figure). We have four standard poodles; and have had occasions when all of them were infested - over 200 ticks per dog! We use K9 Advantix II but the real key to success is the Preventic Flea Collar. It is reliable for three months as advertised; it's pricey compared to others, but this works and the others have not for me. I do recommend it.
Review 16 for 6-PACK Preventic Tick Collar 25"
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
preventic collar
By:sally
Date:January 29, 2013
Pet:Dog
This collar is excellent it really does the job of keeping ticks off our dogs!!! Excellent product!
Review 17 for 6-PACK Preventic Tick Collar 25"
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product for tick control
By:fran8678
Date:December 30, 2012
 fromRedwood City, CA
Pet:Dog
Breed:Bernese Mtn Dog
I have sold this product for many years in my grooming shop and it has an excellent track record for safety and effectiveness. I think it is better than topical preventives because it can be used when needed and removed when exposure to ticks isn't a problem.
Here in Ca. flea problems are worst in the summer and early fall when it is hot and dry, but ticks are most problematic in the late fall, winter and spring rainy season. I think it is unnecessary at best, and unsafe at worst, to use topical treatments for multiple pests that don't infest pets at the same time of year.
I have not seen any serious adverse reactions to the tick collar but I have seen numerous, sometimes severe, adverse reactions to topical flea/tick preventives. That said, be aware that all pesticides are effective relative to the level of exposure, and no product will be 100% in an environment that is heavily infested. Pet owners must be vigilant in checking for ticks in areas where exposure is high, since several species of ticks can transmit serious diseases to pets and humans.
Review 18 for 6-PACK Preventic Tick Collar 25"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Happy Dogs
By:Nalei
Date:August 1, 2012
 fromWaianae, Hawaii
Pet:Dog
Breed:Boxer, English Cocker Spaniel & Chihuahua/Terrier
Great product at a great price....dogs are happy!!!
Review 19 for 6-PACK Preventic Tick Collar 25"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tick collars
By:Mindy
Date:July 23, 2012
Pet:Dog
Breed:golden lab, bassett hound, pointer
These are the best tick collars on the market! My 3 big hunting breed dogs never get ticks while wearing them. Believe me we have a huge tick problem out here in the country where I live.
I always get them at a great price and with quick shipping from entirely pets.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 20 for 6-PACK Preventic Tick Collar 25"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We're from the South, ya'all!
By:DotStar
Date:July 18, 2012
 fromHouston,. Tx
Pet:Multiple Pets
Breed:Norwich x 2, West Highland and Lab
Being from the hot, humid South, we rarely get to romp in the wild. The darn ticks here are teeny, tiny critters, so Big Mama ALWAYS makes sure we have our potent tick collars on and the very best are the Virbac tick collars for the four of us. Gracious, Scarlet, most folks don't give a #$%^&^, but Big Mama loves us to death and only the best will do!!!
Alex, Baggins, Casey 2 and Nacho
1 2 next>>