EntirelyPets Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At EntirelyPets
Shop Cat Scratchers or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Pioneer Pet SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post

Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
8 out of 9(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pioneer Pet SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Review 1 for Pioneer Pet SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Exerciser
By:4purzlady
Date:April 28, 2014
 fromOracle, AZ
Pet:Cat
Breed:Persian
Was not sure the cats would use this product, but wanted to give it a try. They all like it, but I noticed they used it just as much when it was in a horizontal position before I added the base. Really gives them a good stretch.
Review 2 for Pioneer Pet SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very impressive!
By:Kikikobe
Date:March 3, 2014
 fromHuntington Beach, CA
Pet:Cat
Breed:Mixed
I volunteer at an animal shelter and one of the long time ladies there mentioned how wonderful this type of scratching post was. Even though it may be a little more expensive, it lasts forever she said. So, since I am tired of replacing raggedy scratching posts made of 'straw rope' I decided to try one. I have 5 cats and 1 of them would never use the post only my furniture for scratching. Now she and the other 4 all use this post. They love it. Especially the height, they love to stretch out on it.
Review 3 for Pioneer Pet SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very good quality worth the price
By:CatDogMom
Date:January 31, 2014
Pet:Cat
These are very well made and the thickness is nice as some of our cats climb it and then sit on top. Twice I had bought one of these SmartCat scratching posts at a local shelter and each time it survived our four cats for years. Recently we had decided to take off the old sisal mat and put on new ourselves. That taught us how well made these are and how well-anchored the sisal mat is into the post. It was a huge pain in the *** to do ourselves so we decided we would buy another new. This site had a crazy sale they emailed me once and so I jumped at the chance to buy this post. It once again is a real champ, a very high quality product. BTW sometimes I rub catnip into it to re-spark interest, or I pet my cat when they scratch it.
Review 4 for Pioneer Pet SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Our Cat Won't Touch This
By:JeanM
Date:November 14, 2013
 fromPennsylvania
Pet:Multiple Pets
Breed:Calico Cat
Our cat shredded her previous scratching posts, and has never met furniture that she doesn't like to destroy, but she will not touch this scratching post. She sniffed it when it first arrived, but that's about it. I took her feet and rubbed them on the post to show her what to do with it, but no interest. Maybe I'll rub it with some catnip! It's a shame because it seems like a nice product, but was a waste of money for us.
Review 5 for Pioneer Pet SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great purchase!
By:7mascotas
Date:October 8, 2013
 fromLos Angeles, CA
Pet:Cat
Breed:Rescue
My cats love this - they scratch the post instead of my furniture. The sisal is wonderful. I think it is one of the best looking posts, too.
Review 6 for Pioneer Pet SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best cat scrathing post ever
By:Dr. Sax
Date:July 25, 2013
 fromLittle Rock, AR
Pet:Cat
Breed:Mostly all 6 are mixed breeds
This is a replacement of a similar product. Because it is a tall (32") post, it gives our cats the opportunity to really stretch and scratch. It's almost comparable to their being outside and using a tree. All the others we've tried are entirely too short. They also love the sisal rope wrapping. We are just delighted with this scratcher and will replace when necessary with the same style. Thanks for having this available.
Review 7 for Pioneer Pet SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
best scratching post
By:stevo
Date:July 9, 2013
 fromlong island new york
Pet:Cat
Breed:ragoll
I have a large ragdoll cat who loves this scratching post. It is heavy enough so he con't tip it over.
Review 8 for Pioneer Pet SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Extra Tall Scratching Post
By:Skipper's Mom
Date:May 6, 2013
 fromNortheast Georgia Mountains
Pet:Cat
This is a good scratching post for larger cats as many posts are too short. So far I am having difficulty getting my three year old male cat to switch to using this post instead of couch and chair arms. He is so big he starts scratching on top of the arms and works his way down. I think a different covering on the post and maybe a horizontal instead of vertical wrap would make it more appealing. If I had bought this a few years ago he might have been more inclined to use it.
Review 9 for Pioneer Pet SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sturdy and Strong!
By:AuntDi'sCats
Date:January 25, 2013
 fromFairfield, PA
Pet:Cat
Breed:calico, long-haired tuxedo, tiger stripe and a gray tabby
Bought this to replace one I've had for many years that was finally on its last leg. This is very well-made, sturdy and strong and looks like it will hold up well in my multi-cat household (currently four). Stopped the declawing practice years ago and needed something to save the furniture legs and banisters. Didn't even need catnip - had an interested cat right out of the box, before I even got the base on!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo