EntirelyPets Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Maxi-Guard Oral Gel (4 oz)

Average Customer Rating:
4.55 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
17 out of 20(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Maxi-Guard Oral Gel (4 oz)
Review 1 for Maxi-Guard Oral Gel (4 oz)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maxi-Guard Oral Gel
By:Peri
Date:May 22, 2014
Pet:Dog
Great product ! Use it twice a day . Brush teeth after meal and it does remove residue from teeth and freshens breath. More effective when using a toothbrush than adding the gel to your finger.. Used this product for a couple of years and just love it!
Review 2 for Maxi-Guard Oral Gel (4 oz)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
About half the cost!
By:CatMama
Date:February 21, 2014
Pet:Cat
Breed:DSH
My vet recommended this to me years ago for my neutered female cat, because she had such terrible tartar. Since Sophie wouldn't let me brush her teeth, and she had to have them professionally cleaned twice, I started using this about 5 years ago. The vet's price has been rising steadily, so when I found it here for about half of what she charges, I was delighted! Sophie hasn't had to have her teeth cleaned professionally once since we started daily use, so I am very pleased with it. It obviously works, and it I just put a single drop in the pocket of her cheek on each side once a day. Great product! And it doesn't have chlorhexadine or other nasty chemicals.
Review 3 for Maxi-Guard Oral Gel (4 oz)
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
breath smells great
By:morningglory
Date:January 28, 2014
Pet:Cat
My cats don't like it very much, my sticking my finger into their mouths, but they were 14 years old when I started using it on them. Not sure how well it works on the tarter, but their breath smells great.
Review 4 for Maxi-Guard Oral Gel (4 oz)
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
if this is mint flavored our cat did not like it
By:sandi
Date:January 23, 2014
 fromSouth Carolina
Pet:Cat
Breed:american short hair
mint is not top of the list of favorite flavors for cats. currently i have seafood, poultry and beef flavored toothpaste for Bart, our large 20 pound cat. I brush his gums and teeth daily. I tried with a mint flavored gel and I got a lot resistance immediately to the brushing. When I use the other flavor toothpastes I place a bit of paste on his tongue to keep him busy licking and start brushing back to front teeth and gums with a extra long pet toothbrush. it takes less than a minute and as soon as I hear a low growl it is time to quit. with the mint flavored, I heard the low growl right away. each cat or dog is different, so if you want a change from the flavored pet pastes or just want to see if your pet is up for mint flavored buy this product. you may like it on your toothbrush!! just joking.
Review 5 for Maxi-Guard Oral Gel (4 oz)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Eliminates harmful bacteria
By:moochy
Date:December 10, 2013
 fromMilwaukee, Wis.
Pet:Cat
I have used Maxi Guard products for over 15 years. They keep my cats' teeth clean and breath fresh. My vet told me that the bacteria that builds up around the teeth and gums is harmful to an animals' internal organs, especially the kidneys. My cats are healthy and happy and they don't need dental cleanings as often. And I worry less about renal/kidney failure in my cats.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 6 for Maxi-Guard Oral Gel (4 oz)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No rinsing
By:roro
Date:October 23, 2013
Pet:Dog
Breed:Italian Greyhound
Been using this product on my Itailian Greyhounds for years and it's great. No need to rinse after use, keep in frig and just use a few drops. I use a tooth brush.
Review 7 for Maxi-Guard Oral Gel (4 oz)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works!
By:mmp
Date:October 17, 2013
Pet:Dog
Breed:cocker spaniel, boxer, lab mix
I have been using Maxiguard to clean my dogs' teeth for almost 10 years now. It's easy to apply and it works! No need of a toothbrush. I just use a cotton swab to apply it. My dogs have never needed dental cleaning since I started "brushing" their teeth this way.
Review 8 for Maxi-Guard Oral Gel (4 oz)
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product
By:Mondo
Date:August 27, 2013
 fromEdmonton, AB
Pet:Dog
Breed:Tibetan Spaniel
My mouth shy dog has learned to accept this and enjoy it. The last dental checkup for my 12 year old dog was a success, with this product as part of the regimen.
Review 9 for Maxi-Guard Oral Gel (4 oz)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works Great
By:Barney
Date:June 26, 2013
 fromCalifornia
Pet:Cat
This eliminates bad breath, as well as cleaning the teeth of my cats. Easy to apply daily. No brushes. Just a small amount of gauze to apply it to the teeth and gums. Works Great!
Review 10 for Maxi-Guard Oral Gel (4 oz)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dental health personified!
By:KAM
Date:June 11, 2013
 fromOntario Canada
Pet:Dog
Breed:Rough Collies
I've purchased this in the past through the recommendation of my Vet. But Entirely Pets has THE best price on this product. It has helped tremendously with scent and dental health of my crew. Well worth every penny
Review 11 for Maxi-Guard Oral Gel (4 oz)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Product..
By:Grammy
Date:April 9, 2013
 fromClermont, Florida
Pet:Dog
Breed:2 Miniature Schnauzer and a Terrier/Chu
My Vet tech recommend this product to me. I was told to use a piece of old tee shirt on my finger and it worked miracles. They really look good now. I clean all three of my dogs teeth nightly. They love the attention.......
Review 12 for Maxi-Guard Oral Gel (4 oz)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plus Vit C
By:Elizabeth
Date:January 26, 2013
 fromVA
Pet:Dog
This is the same product I got from the vet but this one has Vit C
Review 13 for Maxi-Guard Oral Gel (4 oz)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maxi-Guard Oral Gel (4 oz)
By:vernie
Date:December 26, 2012
 fromNeuvo Mejico
Pet:Dog
Same product as available through my vet, but more economical to buy here, even with shipping charges added.
Review 14 for Maxi-Guard Oral Gel (4 oz)
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Did not work for us
By:doxiemom
Date:November 4, 2012
Pet:Multiple Pets
Breed:Dachshunds, Cocker Spaniel, domestic shorthair cats
Unfortunately, it is not working for us. First off my dogs are used to having their teeth brushed, but they objected to having the Maxi-Guard Gel placed in their mouth. They don't seem to like the taste and one dog actually foams at the mouth as if she had gotten hold of a toad. So I guess it is back to brushing for us.
Review 15 for Maxi-Guard Oral Gel (4 oz)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clean Teeth
By:Poodle Mom
Date:July 2, 2012
 fromPalm Harbor, Florida
Pet:Dog
Breed:2 Standard Poodles
Maxi-Guard was recommended by our trainer as a safe effective alternative to having a dental performed by our vet. It has really helped!
Review 16 for Maxi-Guard Oral Gel (4 oz)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
best tooth cleaner
By:lovesdogs22
Date:June 27, 2012
 fromIowa
Pet:Dog
Breed:poodle & yellow lab
This is the best product for cleaning dog's teeth. It's better when used with a brush, but even without brushing immediately improves mouth odor. Just squirting a bit in the dog's cheek helps to clean teeth & gums. My toy poodle has terrible teeth, and this really helps extend the time between needing a dentist cleaning.
Review 17 for Maxi-Guard Oral Gel (4 oz)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect Oral gel
By:Miss Kat
Date:April 30, 2012
Pet:Cat
My Vet recommended this product for cats that will not allow brushing. It doesnt have that mint flavor that my cats hate. It's mostly tasteless. Of course they dont like when I apply it on their gums but it's quick and easy.
Review 18 for Maxi-Guard Oral Gel (4 oz)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great tooth gel
By:Len P
Date:February 24, 2012
 fromStaten Island, NY
Pet:Dog
I've been using Maxi-Guard on my dogs for nearly 10 years now. I make it a point to "brush" my dogs' teeth every night after our walk. I use a piece of cotton to apply the gel. My dogs have never needed dental cleaning. My vet is impressed!
Review 19 for Maxi-Guard Oral Gel (4 oz)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
best on the market !
By:chertibs
Date:July 31, 2011
 fromUPSTATE NEW YORK
Pet:Dog
Breed:Yorkshire Terriers
I have tried many tooth cleaning products for my 3 yorkies, and by far this is the one to beat all others. My vet. says it is a great product and I agree. I love it.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 20 for Maxi-Guard Oral Gel (4 oz)
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
zinc may be an issue
By:sue
Date:February 4, 2010
 fromBerkeley, CA
Pet:Dog
Breed:Poodle
I think that the level of zinc in this product should be a consideration given the recent problems found with zinc toxicity in denture adhesive and in Zicam for humans. Without knowing the concentration of zinc in this product, I think it is too risky to use given that your pooch will swallow it. Just because zinc is great for killing mouth microbs does not mean it is wise to use this product