EntirelyPets Ratings and Reviews

Cat Supplies(5,514)
Dog Supplies(13,717)
Dog Toys(2,499)
Harnesses(80)
Shop Now At EntirelyPets
Shop Dog Toys or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

KONG Dental Stick

Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
6 out of 8(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for KONG Dental Stick
Review 1 for KONG Dental Stick
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Chew Toy
By:Bonnie
Date:January 29, 2014
 fromSpringfield, IL
Pet:Dog
I bought a large and a small Kong dental stick for my toy rat terrier and Lab/Pit mix. I put a small amount of the peanut paste in them every evening and it keeps them busy for an hour!
Review 2 for KONG Dental Stick
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
tough
By:MJ in the desert
Date:October 24, 2013
Pet:Dog
Breed:3 Labs and a 23-lb beagle mix
Only one of my dogs chews on this, but it shows almost no wear after many hours of Lab abuse. Also holds up pretty well under the Arizona sun - no small feat.
Review 3 for KONG Dental Stick
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product
By:Deni
Date:April 30, 2013
Pet:Dog
My Pit Bull loves to grab his toy and chew on it. It is strong, yet flexible to let him exercise his jaw. Very happy with this item.
Review 4 for KONG Dental Stick
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Favorite Toy
By:Juneau, Siberian
Date:March 31, 2013
 fromWestern, PA
Pet:Dog
Breed:Rescued Siberian
Don't play with toys much. I've figured out that if I drop this red toy in one of my people's laps, sometimes they will smear peanut butter on it. That gives me something to do for an hour when it's dark outside and my people won't take me for a walk. They've tried to brush my teeth, but I hate it- and they tell me this is almost as good. Ha! This is way better...
(Every couple of months when I finally get this toy to where I can get a little rubber mixed with my peanut butter, it magically changes back to like the first time I got it.)
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 5 for KONG Dental Stick
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Horrible, useless
By:Rich
Date:October 12, 2011
Pet:Dog
Our 10 month old dog, that has never chewed up anything in the house, proceeded to demolish this thing in 5 minutes just by playing with it.
Response from EntirelyPets:By EntirelyPetsReview TeamOctober 13, 2011
Hi,
We would recommend trying Nylabone Galileo Chews -
http://www.entirelypets.com/nygalil...
We hope that helps.
Review 6 for KONG Dental Stick
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy Toothbrushing
By:Eve
Date:October 9, 2011
 fromPortland, OR
Pet:Dog
Breed:Basenji mix
A veterinarian recommended the Kong Dental Stick to me when I told her that my dog would not allow her teeth to be brushed. I put edible dog toothpaste in the ridges of the Dental Stick, and the dog gets her teeth (and mostly tongue) inside the ridges while she eats the toothpaste. This is the closest I've gotten to brushing her teeth.
Review 7 for KONG Dental Stick
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Horrible
By:RD
Date:September 27, 2011
Pet:Dog
Breed:staffordshire bull terrier
I like the Kong brand because it advertises tough products that dogs can't chew through. My dog destroyed this easily within the first five minutes.
Response from EntirelyPets:By EntirelyPetsReview TeamOctober 5, 2011
Hi,
If your dog is an aggressive chewer we would recommend Nylabone Galileo Chews -
http://www.entirelypets.com/nygalil....
We hope that helps.
Review 8 for KONG Dental Stick
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it, Love it, Love it
By:Sue
Date:May 5, 2010
 fromBerkeley, CA
Pet:Dog
Breed:poodles
Hi, I want to recommend the "Dental Kong" as a necessary part of your total dental care program for your pooch. The Dental Kong is designed to hold a sliver of a treat in the central hole and some treat paste in the grooves. I have poodles, who, unlike Labs, will not usually chew a toy for the sake of chewing-- they need a payoff of a treat. The Dental Kong (with a treat) encourages chewing and thus will squeegie the teeth. It does not clean under the gum line and so will not take the place of brushing with a soft bristle brush (I recommend the human Colgate Wave toothbrush, soft bristle). The main benefit, however, of a Kong is the exercise and strenthening of the dental ligaments. The Kong has the right amount of give to exercise the dental ligaments without fracturing the teeth like the Nylabone. One of the best pastes to smear on the grooves of the Dental Kong is a mixture of Greek plain 2% yogurt mixed with "Wysong Denta Treat" cheese enzyme (one of my dogs is allergic to milk protein and so I smear the grooves with lamb baby food instead).