EntirelyPets Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At EntirelyPets
Shop Pet Gift Ideas (For All Occasions) or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Petsafe Gentle Leader Quick Release Headcollar

TheGentleLeaderHeadCollarquicklycontrolsjumping,pulling,barking,chewingandbeggingIteventeachessitandstayinoneeasylesson!Firstofall,theGentleLeaderHeadcollarisNOTamuleWhenfittedproperly,yourdogisfreetoopenhismouthtoeat,drink,pant,fetch,barkandevenbite-exceptwhenyouclosehismouthbypullingontheleashThePremierGentleLeaderHeadcollarfeaturestwosoftnylonstraps-thecollarportionfitshighatthetopoftheneck,andthenoseloopfitslooselyandcomfortablyacrossthebaseofthemuleEachstraphasadistinctandimportanteffectInc
Average Customer Rating:
4.816 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
35 out of 35(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Petsafe Gentle Leader Quick Release Headcollar
Review 1 for Petsafe Gentle Leader Quick Release Headcollar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful Training Tool!!!
By:
Date:January 4, 2016
 fromMinnesota
Pet:Dog
Breed:Pitbull Mix
After breaking my wrist, I taught my pup to wear a Gentle Leader with metal buckle (not quick-release) with my non-dominant hand. I acclimated him to the GL gradually, over several days. I gave him treats when he let it go over his muzzle; then when he let it hang from his muzzle, I slipped the neck loop over his head and gave more treats; then tightened the buckle and gave more treats. Lots of repetition at each step! Then for several days I put it on him for meals. We clipped the leash (held by my husband) to his regular collar during this period. When I needed to walk him by myself, with one arm in a splint, I clipped the leash to the GL, keeping the leash slack most of the time, but had easy control when needed.
Review 2 for Petsafe Gentle Leader Quick Release Headcollar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gentle leader
By:
Date:January 16, 2015
 fromWhitesburg, Ga.
Pet:Dog
Breed:springer spaniel mix.
Got this to try to stop 5 month old from pulling me off my feet. To date I have only been able to adjust it because she doesn't like it around her nose. Trying to just slowly adjust her to it a couple of minutes at a time before attaching a leash to it.
Review 3 for Petsafe Gentle Leader Quick Release Headcollar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
stopped my dog from pulling on his lead!
By:
Date:June 17, 2014
 fromCassville,Mo
Pet:Dog
Breed:Boykin Spaniel
My dog wears this and he heels automatically with out being told....Best money ive spent so far-would definitely recommend one if your dog loves to pull hard and uncontrollably.One day he pulled my handicapped brother onto his belly and across the yard.so glad I tried this product and it works immediately for us! Glad a friend recommended it to me....!!!!!!!!!!!
Review 4 for Petsafe Gentle Leader Quick Release Headcollar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No way - Shut up!!!!!!
By:
Date:June 15, 2014
 fromKansas City, KS
Pet:Dog
Breed:Whippet-Lab
My veterinarian recommended the gentle leader, as my intelligent but lover-of-small-creatures dog bolts while on walks. I had only tried a harness leash (across the chest) and was worried about using a choker-type collar since the dog is new to me and was previously abused. I read all of the reviews and thought it couldn't be as good as it sounds. Well, it is! Fabulous does not even describe the collar! Although Myelin tries to regularly rub it off with her paw, she is not distressed and walks so lovely with the gentle leader. One day I forgot to put it on her and used a regular leash, and sure enough she about pulled my shoulder and ribs out of place with her pull. Thank you, thank you, thank you for such a great tool!
Review 5 for Petsafe Gentle Leader Quick Release Headcollar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Solution for Dogs who Pull
By:
Date:December 19, 2013
Pet:Dog
Breed:Golden Retriever - Labrador Cross
The Gentle Leader was recommended to me by professional trainers at the Israel Guide Dog Center for the Blind. It does everything they say it does. Life is easier for both my guide dog and me now that she does not pull so hard. It's a gentle, terrific tool for teaching dogs to walk without pulling, and it's easy and pleasant to put on and remove.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 6 for Petsafe Gentle Leader Quick Release Headcollar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Collar!
By:
Date:October 30, 2013
Pet:Multiple Pets
I have two dogs that love to take ME for a walk. The Gentle Leader is perfect for me because it fits comfortably on my dogs. And if they start to get ahead of me, a gentle turn of their heads with very little movement of the leash reminds them to slow down. Our walks are more enjoyable for both of us. It takes a few minutes to adjust the collar for the first use, but after that, it's quick and easy to put on. One of my dogs even gets so excited, she wiggles her nose right into the collar, wanting me to hurry and put it on her. I love our walks now!
Review 7 for Petsafe Gentle Leader Quick Release Headcollar
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Instant Obedience !!!
By:
Date:August 21, 2013
Pet:Dog
Breed:Newfoundland Mix
Where the nose goes .... the dog follows... or PULLS...that is...LOL
I have a 125 lb. Newfoundland Mix. She is normally very well-behaved...except on walks with other dogs around. She would 'WIN' every time we passed a dog. With the Gentle Leader, she instantly behaved...NO MORE PULLING me towards other dogs she wanted to meet. It is just like a horse bridle that guides the animal's muzzle. So, if you have a dog that is a 'small horse' like my Gypsy....I highly recommend the Gentle Leader...you will love your walks or runs as much as your furry friend does.
Review 8 for Petsafe Gentle Leader Quick Release Headcollar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great collar
By:
Date:June 10, 2013
 fromLong Beach, CA
Pet:Dog
Breed:Golden Retriever/Wolfhound Mix
I've tried a choke collar, martigale collar and a harness, but my dog did not respond and was out of control on his walks. He is the first dog that I've struggled with on walks. He did his best job while off leash using verbal commands, however off leash walking is not legal where I live. He immediately responded to the gental leader, staying right beside me on our walks. No more jumping up and down, switching sides or getting ahead of me.
Review 9 for Petsafe Gentle Leader Quick Release Headcollar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Date:June 9, 2013
Pet:Dog
Finally I (female, 52 kg) can walk my two years old German Shepherd (male, 45 kg) without running the risk of being pulled across the street when he discovers a cat or when we meet other dogs. Heaven!!!
Review 10 for Petsafe Gentle Leader Quick Release Headcollar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Date:April 29, 2013
Pet:Dog
Breed:Puggle
For a dog that pulls, this worked for us in less than 10 minutes
Review 11 for Petsafe Gentle Leader Quick Release Headcollar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Purchase ever
By:
Date:March 19, 2013
 fromThe Villages, FL
Pet:Dog
Breed:Yorkshire Terrier
The gentle leader head collar is fantastic!! I watched the video to make sure I was putting the collar on properly. It works great. There is no more pulling or jumping up. It was able to calm down my 10 year old Yorkie who is never calm. I am so thankful for finally being able to walk her without her being crazy. My trainer wasn't even able to give me any suggestions as to how to calm her. You do have to reward your dog as you are getting them used to the collar. This is an important step, but well worth the effort.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 12 for Petsafe Gentle Leader Quick Release Headcollar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
second one in four years
By:
Date:December 7, 2012
Pet:Dog
Breed:Rescue...mix breed
great for keeping strong dogs from pulling excessively. Truly works just as it says. Very good price and they last a long time. I use mine at least 6 times a day every day.
Review 13 for Petsafe Gentle Leader Quick Release Headcollar
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GREAT. BUT . . .
By:
Date:November 6, 2012
 fromLas Vegas, NV
Pet:Dog
Breed:Basset Hound
I love the Gentle Leader Head Collar . . .
EXCEPT the collar has a inherent flaw. I am now on my sixth pair (I walk two dogs) and all have developed the same wear problem. The "Slide Adjustment" that assists in fitting the head collar to your dogs snout size creates a friction point. Over a 4 to 5 week period the "canvas strap" starts to fray and unravel at the point where the slide adustment is "locked" in place. This in turn weakens the collor to the point that where the collar strap can (and did) snap/break.
Review 14 for Petsafe Gentle Leader Quick Release Headcollar
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
doesn't work for me
By:
Date:October 31, 2012
Pet:Dog
I Have an american bulldog mix and leader doesn't seem to adjust correctly. It rides up onto his eyes.
Review 15 for Petsafe Gentle Leader Quick Release Headcollar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great help
By:
Date:October 24, 2012
Pet:Multiple Pets
I put the gentle leader on my dog, she struggled a little bit but I kept going and it works like a miracle. I walk several dogs at once and this gentle leader makes life for me and my dog a lot nicer. If your dog pulls get this product!
Review 16 for Petsafe Gentle Leader Quick Release Headcollar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gentle Leader Head Collar
By:
Date:October 23, 2012
Pet:Dog
Breed:Terrier mix
Can't believe what a difference this head collar is making in the way our dog walks. No lunging, barking -- Walks are much more relaxing now.
So glad we got it!
Review 17 for Petsafe Gentle Leader Quick Release Headcollar
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
a great training tool
By:
Date:October 23, 2012
 fromLockport, NY
Pet:Dog
Breed:Labador retriever
A great training tool, we have 4 month old lab pups...and what a difference it made in curbing their pulling during walks!
Review 18 for Petsafe Gentle Leader Quick Release Headcollar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gentle Leader controls dog, no strain on owner
By:
Date:July 31, 2012
 fromNorth Carolina
Pet:Dog
Breed:3 dogs, the male is pitbull/black lab.
We have 3 large dogs (about 60, 70 and 80 pounds), and have had many dogs over the years. None of them pulled until our 70 pound male. He never got the idea not to pull, even though I walked him regularly for months.
I was getting so annoyed with him, I'd cut short our walks. Finally I got a gentle leader for him, and it has been the best thing ever. When he pulls it bothers him, not me, and I am happy to walk him. He rarely pulls with it on, though.
We walk our dogs 3 times a day and our male is no problem anymore with the gentle leader. He's better without the gentle leader too.
Review 19 for Petsafe Gentle Leader Quick Release Headcollar
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not effective
By:
Date:July 27, 2012
 fromMI
Pet:Dog
Breed:Alapaha Blue Blood Bulldog
My dog does not seem to be liking this. He still keeps pulling even with this halter, and since it is hurting him with visible injury to his muzzle, I have stopped using it.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 20 for Petsafe Gentle Leader Quick Release Headcollar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It really works !
By:
Date:July 23, 2012
 fromScranton, PA
Pet:Dog
Breed:Pit-Bull/Dalmation Mix
I was COMPLETELY against the gentle leader collars, UNTIL I tried it !! They are NOT a muzzle, they do not cut of the dogs breathing or stop it from opening it's mouth. All it does it re-direct it's "pull." I have not been able to walk my 4 year old pit-bull/dalmation mix dog until I bought the gentle leader. Plus is she a reactive dog and responds to ALMOST anything around here. I noticed with the gentle leader, she appears a lot more calm and relaxed.
1 2 next>>