EntirelyPets Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

DECHRA Malacetic Otic (4oz)

Average Customer Rating:
4.583 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
10 out of 11(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for DECHRA Malacetic Otic (4oz)
Review 1 for DECHRA Malacetic Otic (4oz)
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dechra otic
By:DOGLOVER
Date:August 30, 2014
 fromRoselle, NJ
Pet:Dog
Breed:Sheltie/Terrier cross
This item was returned on the advice of my veterinarian. I am now waiting to receive a credit to be posted to my credit card. It may be a very good item, but my vet says "no, don't use it" so I didn't.
Review 2 for DECHRA Malacetic Otic (4oz)
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effective Ear Care
By:Tracey
Date:February 5, 2014
Pet:Dog
Breed:Bloodhound
I'm owned by a bloodhound (insert grin), and he has ear maintenance requirements like no other breed I've ever had. His ears must be kept dry inside or he develops yeast and infection very easily. I started using Malacetic at the advise of my vet. At first I followed directions that suggested flooding the ear canal once a week and wiping out excess after several minutes. This process was way to caustic for my boy's ears and would make them bleed. Needless to say, I stopped that as soon as I saw what it was doing. I then reduced the amount used to just a few drops per ear, but increased the frequency to every other day. My sweet boy hasn't had a problem or infection since and I've been using this product for three years. I would recommend Malacetic for ear care, but I would recommend paying close attention to how it effects your pet and adjust the dosage accordingly.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for DECHRA Malacetic Otic (4oz)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product
By:Droopy
Date:June 24, 2013
Pet:Dog
Breed:Rescue Basset
Excellent product for Basset with long ear cannels.
Review 4 for DECHRA Malacetic Otic (4oz)
7 of 16 found this review helpful.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Product
By:Vicki
Date:January 31, 2013
 fromSouth Carolina
Pet:Dog
Breed:SHIH TZU
My dog suffers from malassezia dermatitis and part of her symptoms is a dark waxy discharge from her ears. I have used these drops for 2 weeks, massaging the ear for a couple of minutes, and the discharge is significantly reduced. the ears are soft and supple, so clearly the yeast/fungus has been reduced. I am delighted with the product.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 5 for DECHRA Malacetic Otic (4oz)
7 of 15 found this review helpful.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended! After regular use for sensitive pet!!
By:Elderly cat owner
Date:January 10, 2013
 fromEurope
Pet:Cat
Breed:Mixed Persian
I have a 16 1/2 elderly cat, that have food intolerance issues, which has cause her - over the years - to have build up and even yeast in her ears. This resulted in trips to the vet with expensive cost, of course aside from the suffering of the cat. I now realized that even though dogs are the ones that tend to have this problem, it does not mean I cannot initiate maintaining clean ears before even getting to a need of treatment. The importance of the cleaning is also because if not done -It also makes her less balanced when walking and she has pain there. Moreover, as many of you know - Ear problems such as these does not go away easily. Another challenge is that- She is also not tolerant to these kind of clean up procedures. I wanted a natural based product that will do the job quickly. We use this product regularly. It does not leave any Greasy or any "colorful" stains near the ears, as it is clear and watery fluid. It also smells fresh like apples -as it is based on a natural cleaning ingredient derived from apples! Before buying it from this site, I Was a bit worried since no one had left a review here. I wanted to change this situation to help undecided customers like I was. So... Good luck! I recommend it.
Review 6 for DECHRA Malacetic Otic (4oz)
8 of 16 found this review helpful.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product
By:nannyjoyce
Date:December 26, 2012
 fromKentucky
Pet:Dog
This seems to be a good product and will continue to use it.
Review 7 for DECHRA Malacetic Otic (4oz)
7 of 15 found this review helpful.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product
By:lin
Date:December 6, 2012
 fromokatie,sc
Pet:Dog
Breed:labs
helped clear up chronic ear infection in my lab.
nice smell...not medicinal
Review 8 for DECHRA Malacetic Otic (4oz)
6 of 12 found this review helpful.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product
By:Edward
Date:November 6, 2012
 fromWisconsin
Pet:Dog
Breed:golden retriever
Our golden retriever loves the water and we would still be battling ear infections if it wasn't for this product.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 9 for DECHRA Malacetic Otic (4oz)
8 of 15 found this review helpful.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the perfect ear cleanser
By:barbararitaville
Date:August 21, 2012
Pet:Dog
Breed:cockerspaniel
Originally purchased dermapet ear cleanser from our vet. It is the best product I have ever used in our cockerspaniel's ears. It is gentle, yet thorough.
Review 10 for DECHRA Malacetic Otic (4oz)
4 of 8 found this review helpful.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A life saver!
By:Susie
Date:September 1, 2011
Pet:Cat
Breed:Devon Rex
Don't forget cleaning kitties ears as well!
I have three Devon Rexes. Devon Rexes have larger ears than most cats and are particularly prone to waxy buildup. True to form, my cats required their ears to be cleaned constantly. One of them actually required her ears to be cleaned every 3-4 days because her build up was so ridiculous (they probably could be cleaned every day and still have plenty of wax to spare!). After doing this for several years, I finally brought it up to the vet, and she tested the ear wax and found a small amount of yeast, but it wasn't clear if this was a cause or effect of the buildup. She recommend that I try this product and see if it helped at all...and it really did! After the very first use I noticed that the wax wasn't coming back as frequently, and now, only a couple of months later, I now can go 2-3 times as long as I used to go without having to clean their ears, and the build up is much looser and easier to remove when I do clean them. I have already recommended this product to others, and would absolutely do so again!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 11 for DECHRA Malacetic Otic (4oz)
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful
By:Tjhyde
Date:August 5, 2010
 fromAlabama
Pet:Dog
Breed:We have Many different breeds. We do dog rescue.
I have used this product in the past on my Am. Fox Hound and it was wonderful. Better than any other ear cleanser I have tried. Even the expensive ones from the vet. I was very pleased and I'm ordering again!
Review 12 for DECHRA Malacetic Otic (4oz)
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best ever ear cleaner
By:Georgianna Stebbins
Date:March 1, 2008
This is the absolute best ear cleaner I have ever come across! I have a long haired miniature dachshund and he is always getting ear infections due to moist ears because he is so hairy. If I see he is starting to get one, I just clean his ears with this product and it goes away. Talk about saving money at the vet! I don't know what I would do without it!