EntirelyPets Ratings and Reviews

Cat Supplies(5,276)
Dog Supplies(12,618)
Dog Toys(2,556)
Harnesses(87)
Specialty(10)
Shop Now At EntirelyPets
Shop Deterrent Products for Dogs or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Petsafe Spray Shield (Formally Known as Direct Stop)

Average Customer Rating:
4.846 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Petsafe Spray Shield (Formally Known as Direct Stop)
Review 1 for Petsafe Spray Shield (Formally Known as Direct Stop)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spray Shield
By:NayNay
Date:April 19, 2013
 fromDivide, CO
Pet:Dog
Breed:Alaskan Malamute
I am a professional pet care provider and am always out walking dogs. I used to carry my gun with me for protection but now I am carrying spray shield. I am currently enrolled in an in depth class to become a dog trainer and this is what they highly recommend.
Review 2 for Petsafe Spray Shield (Formally Known as Direct Stop)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best companion on our walks
By:Labby Lover
Date:April 16, 2013
 fromMilwaukie, Oregon
Pet:Dog
Breed:Lab +?, and a German short Hair P/R
We learned about Spray Shield from a Doggy Day care where they use it to break up any confrontations.
To date I have been able to stop two pit bulls, one labridoodle, two labs, a Husky mix, and a small dog that wanted to attack my two dogs on lead.
I am on my third can and will not leave home with my dogs without the Spray Shield.
It does not hurt the dogs they just don't like the smell.
Review 3 for Petsafe Spray Shield (Formally Known as Direct Stop)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spray Shield
By:Carol
Date:January 24, 2013
 fromAlpine, NJ
Pet:Dog
Breed:Bassett Hound
I love this product. It has got to the point where if my dog is doing something bad, I just have to show him the spray and he stops immediately. It is great when I am walking him and an aggressive dog, who is off its leash and wandering the street, comes near to us. If it goes after my dog, I just spray it and it goes away. This has happened a couple of times.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 4 for Petsafe Spray Shield (Formally Known as Direct Stop)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product
By:JudyB
Date:January 9, 2013
Pet:Multiple Pets
Breed:large breed dogs
We take in rescue dogs with issues. This product works great without hurting anyone. Highly recommended.
Review 5 for Petsafe Spray Shield (Formally Known as Direct Stop)
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good idea
By:peppermintp
Date:August 15, 2012
Pet:Multiple Pets
Breed:Miniature schnauzer
Haven't had to use this yet but it seems like a good idea to have on hand.
Review 6 for Petsafe Spray Shield (Formally Known as Direct Stop)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AWESOME SAFE AND EFFECTIVE PRODUCT
By:Bassetdriver
Date:August 8, 2012
 fromNorthern Illinois
Pet:Dog
Breed:Basset Hound
This is a great product to use to defuse mild to moderate aggression in your dogs. It does not inflict pain, it is safe and trust me.... the dogs do not like either the sound or smell of the citronella. We have one guy who will mellow out as soon as he sees the can. If you have multiple dogs in your home who occassionally get into a scuffle or if you have a dog who is exhbiting aggressive tendancies such as growling, etc- try this. It is amazing what a short blast will do. You will be please with the result
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 7 for Petsafe Spray Shield (Formally Known as Direct Stop)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everything it's advertised to be
By:juliek
Date:June 5, 2012
Pet:Dog
Breed:Mutt, Border Collies
In one short week, it has already prevented two separate dog fights with aggressive neighborhood dogs. Easy to use, safe, humane, and does the job like none other. Congratulations on a terrific product!
Review 8 for Petsafe Spray Shield (Formally Known as Direct Stop)
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Harmless Deterrent Spray
By:tsangkyi
Date:January 8, 2012
Pet:Dog
Having purchased "Halt" pepper spray, the deterrent provided to mail carriers, I refrain from using it because I don't want to cause discomfort to errant dogs. Instead I continue to rely on Sprayshield because it is effective and non-injurious--all good.
Review 9 for Petsafe Spray Shield (Formally Known as Direct Stop)
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not harmful to pets.
By:Suzanne
Date:July 8, 2011
 fromOrlando, Florida
Pet:Dog
Breed:Chow Chow/Shepherd and Corgi mix.
Spray Shield seems to work on mildly aggressive dogs. We walk our dogs on lead and on occasion an unleashed dog will run up to them and I can tell a fight's about to happen. One or two blasts have stopped or prevented a fight without harming the animals.
Review 10 for Petsafe Spray Shield (Formally Known as Direct Stop)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product
By:Scorpiocs
Date:January 30, 2009
This spray really works! Mmy Labrador retriever and I have had many bad encounters with stray dogs. It is amazing how many people allow their aggressive dogs to roam the streets. I have used this spray on 5 occassions with great success. There was only 1 encounter (with a Siberian Husky)
when the spray did not deter as I would have liked it
to, but as the package states it may not work on
cases where the attacking dog wants to KILL your dog. I do not go on my walks without this product, and I highly recommend you do not either.
Review 11 for Petsafe Spray Shield (Formally Known as Direct Stop)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for stray dog encounters
By:A. Williams
Date:August 12, 2008
I keep this with me when I walk my dog. Whenever we encounter a stray dog and I'm concerned about whether it's friendly or not, I just use this product to scare the stray dog away. I think they dislike the sound of the compressed air the most. They never get close enough to actually encounter the spray itself. Works great. Just wish it lasted longer.
Review 12 for Petsafe Spray Shield (Formally Known as Direct Stop)
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WORTH EVERY PENNY
By:KATHY
Date:July 15, 2008
This is the best device to use to help control barking. Use the element of surprise and have it ready every chance you anticipate your dog will bark. Works like a charm.
Review 13 for Petsafe Spray Shield (Formally Known as Direct Stop)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spray Shield Rocks!
By:S. Mackay
Date:April 21, 2008
As a dog trainer and kennel owner, all our employees are required to have this spray on their belt. It's a great deterrent and much safer than pepper spray and mace. No license required. The citronella which is the primary ingredient, simply tastes bad and overwhelms the senses. While no one product will stop an agitated dog 100%, I have had good luck with this product and I take it personally on my walks with my dogs and suggest it to my clients. It's a great product and the price is right.