EntirelyPets Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At EntirelyPets
Shop ADAPTIL - DAP for Dogs (Dog Appeasing Pheromone) or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

ADAPTIL (DAP) Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Medium & Large

ADAPTIL(DAP)CollarcontainsDAPandoffersanaturalandconvenientwaytohelpmanagestress-relatedbehaviorinyourdogDesignedtoprovidecomforttopuppiesandadultdogsinstressfulsituations,ADAPTILhelpsresponsivenesstobehaviortherapyandtrainingNursingmotherdogsnaturallyproduceanappeasingpheromeClinicalstudieshavedemonstratedthatasyntheticanalogueofthispheromne(DAP)helpsprovidereassuranceandcomforttopuppiesanddogsofallagesUsesHelpsreducestressinchallengingsituations(loudsnoises,boarding,travellingandnewsurrounding
Average Customer Rating:
3.913 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (196 reviews)
5 stars
102
4 stars
46
3 stars
5
2 stars
15
1 star
28
138 out of 180(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ADAPTIL (DAP) Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Medium & Large
Review 1 for ADAPTIL (DAP) Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Medium & Large
This review is from3 Packs ADAPTIL (DAP) Collar for Puppies and Small Dogs.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Adaptil collar
By:
Date:March 20, 2016
 fromNC
Pet:Dog
Breed:miniature poodle
We tried this after winning it in a giveaway at our vet. The first one we used for travel was GREAT.....huge change in behavior. Placed order for 3 more(we travel a lot), the collars are much larger and do not seem to have the same scent. So far just on a trip in town, I can't tell that these are doing any good. I really had high hopes this might help in our car travel. Will try a second one this upcoming weekend and see if there is any difference.
Review 2 for ADAPTIL (DAP) Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Medium & Large
This review is from3 Packs ADAPTIL (DAP) Collar for Puppies and Small Dogs.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
May be helping
By:
Date:February 21, 2016
Pet:Dog
Along with fluoxetine and Adaptil infuser my dog appears less frightened by noise--but I cannot tell which product should get credit for this, maybe all?
Review 3 for ADAPTIL (DAP) Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Medium & Large
This review is from3 Pack ADAPTIL (DAP) Collar for Medium & Large Dogs.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Date:December 7, 2015
Pet:Dog
Breed:golden retriever
I like the diffuser but I like the collars even better. Paulie's stress behavior changes for the worse toward the end of the collar's "life". I recommended the collar to a friend who rescued a dog from the same horrible place from which Paulie came. Her dog had suddenly begun escaping from her very well fenced back yard. As soon as she started using the Adaptil collar, her dog's escaping behavior stopped!
Review 4 for ADAPTIL (DAP) Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Medium & Large
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Calming to some extent
By:
Date:October 7, 2015
 fromLos Angeles
Pet:Dog
Breed:Husky
My dogs tend to escape once in a while, especially with thunder or fireworks. It's hard to tell how well the collars are working, but there haven't been fireworks or thunder lately. But my male Husky is definitely calmer in general since wearing this. My female is unchanged but she is more hyper in general so it doesn't seem to do much for her. I plan to continue using them just because it seems to relax the male so much that it can't be hurting anything.
Review 5 for ADAPTIL (DAP) Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Medium & Large
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Helps reduce anxiety and hyperactivity
By:
Date:August 24, 2015
Pet:Dog
Breed:Doxie-mix & Flat-coated Retriever
I have found the collar to be very effective as a calming product for several of my dogs.
Review 6 for ADAPTIL (DAP) Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Medium & Large
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adaptil Collar
By:
Date:August 8, 2015
 fromSt. Cloud, FL
Pet:Dog
Breed:Mixes
I am very pleased with this product. My 13 year young has been terrified of storms her whole life. She would shake & hide the entire night. We have other calming Products (Pet Calm), but having to give it to all 4 of the Dogs. This collar has calmed the eldest & in turn stopped the others from reacting also. I still keep Pet Calm on hand & I have not used this product in a Firework Situation yet.
This Product did not work for Our Boy getting Agitated (Dogs playing in yard next to course & barking dogs in the Professional Kennel) at Agility Class..... I hope this is helpful to others : )
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 7 for ADAPTIL (DAP) Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Medium & Large
This review is from3 Pack ADAPTIL (DAP) Collar for Medium & Large Dogs.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Adaptil collar
By:
Date:September 9, 2015
 fromCulleoka, TN
Pet:Multiple Pets
Breed:All are a variety of genetic mixes.
I believe that this collar has eased my almost 2 year old husky mix out of her e-collar and into the unframed world again. She had created a sore spot on her front leg and was paying too much attention to it. I used an e-collar until the spot healed and then went to the Adaptil collar immediately afterward. It is so hard to tell what might be natural maturity and what might be influenced by the phermones, however I do think it has an effect. She quit tearing up her bed too!
Review 8 for ADAPTIL (DAP) Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Medium & Large
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Seems to help
By:
Date:July 12, 2015
Pet:Dog
Breed:Lab
Our 10 yr old lab has become more anxious as she's gotten older. This collar seems to take the edge off. It's not a dramatic change, but she seems a bit more relaxed.
Review 9 for ADAPTIL (DAP) Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Medium & Large
This review is from3 Pack ADAPTIL (DAP) Collar for Medium & Large Dogs.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adaptil DAP collar - worked wonders for us
By:
Date:August 10, 2015
Pet:Dog
Breed:Mix - Boxer/Golden Lab
This is a non-drug product that is meant for dogs who suffer from raised levels of anxiety. We purchased the DAP collar which are made of plastic impregnated with the pheromone that a female dog releases when she is lactating and needs to calm down her puppies. The same pheromone also calms down other dogs in the vicinity of a lactating female. We noticed a marked difference in our dog's stress indicators within a day of using the collar.
The collars are not cheap (running from $25 to $50 per collar) but if your dogs are always on edge and you don't want to use drugs to calm them down, this collar is worth a try.
My suggestion would be to get the first collar from your vet, along with instructions about how to best use it and what to look for to notice a difference in behavior.
If you are happy with the first collar, then I suggest buying any further collars on-line (they only last for a month). EntirelyPets shipped promptly and the product we received was exactly as ordered. We are very pleased.
Review 10 for ADAPTIL (DAP) Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Medium & Large
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wonderful product
By:
Date:June 22, 2015
Pet:Dog
Breed:Chow mix
Our 14 year old chow has been frightened by thunderstorms and fireworks for years! We usually have to give her a calming medication which would last about 4 hours. With the collar, she is calm and able to go without the medicine most of the time! Very pleased that we don't have the wee hour wake up whine!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 11 for ADAPTIL (DAP) Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Medium & Large
This review is from3 Pack ADAPTIL (DAP) Collar for Medium & Large Dogs.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works Well
By:
Date:August 3, 2015
 fromFlorida
Pet:Dog
Breed:Red on White Setter
Collars seem to work fine for thunderstorms that are not right on top of you. Really close strikes still make the dog a bit jumpy. However still worth the money for what it does.
Review 12 for ADAPTIL (DAP) Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Medium & Large
This review is from3 Packs ADAPTIL (DAP) Collar for Puppies and Small Dogs.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Calmer and Happier dog
By:
Date:July 23, 2015
 fromGrand Rapids, MI
Pet:Dog
Breed:Terrier-mixed
My dog has always been very nervous. He often seems depressed and is afraid of his own shadow. He is a rescue, but after many years of working with him my vet recommended Adaptil. I was very skeptical but after a very short period of time he was noticeably happier. Even family members that see him only a few times of year commented that he seemed happier. It is a great product that has made my dog's quality of life much better.
Review 13 for ADAPTIL (DAP) Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Medium & Large
This review is from3 Packs ADAPTIL (DAP) Collar for Puppies and Small Dogs.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Product
By:
Date:July 14, 2015
 fromCharleston, SC
Pet:Dog
Breed:Lhaso
If you have an over active dog with a little attitude, this is the collar she or he needs. I use it, and I can tell when it is time to change it. Never leave it on you animal, follow directions.
Review 14 for ADAPTIL (DAP) Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Medium & Large
This review is from3 Packs ADAPTIL (DAP) Collar for Puppies and Small Dogs.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
3 Pack Adaptil small dogs
By:
Date:July 4, 2015
Pet:Dog
calms my dog right down and lasts the entire month. great alt to medication for dogs with problems.
Review 15 for ADAPTIL (DAP) Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Medium & Large
This review is fromADAPTIL D.A.P. Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Small.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DAP collar
By:
Date:June 16, 2015
 fromHouston
Pet:Dog
Breed:Maltese
Did not help my Maltese on her travel in airplane or car or house
Review 16 for ADAPTIL (DAP) Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Medium & Large
This review is from3 Pack ADAPTIL (DAP) Collar for Medium & Large Dogs.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sorry to say this did not work at all on my golden
By:
Date:June 15, 2015
 fromrome ny
Pet:Dog
Breed:golden retriever
He still shook from fear like crazy during thunderstorms and fireworks both.
Review 17 for ADAPTIL (DAP) Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Medium & Large
This review is from3 Packs ADAPTIL (DAP) Collar for Puppies and Small Dogs.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worth every penny
By:
Date:June 3, 2015
 fromHouston, TX
Pet:Dog
Breed:Cocker/dachshund mix
This product is wonderful. Calmed our dog within minutes after putting it on her.
Review 18 for ADAPTIL (DAP) Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Medium & Large
This review is fromADAPTIL D.A.P. Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Small.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
thank goodness this product exists
By:
Date:May 18, 2015
 fromNEWBURGH, NY
Pet:Dog
Breed:MINI DACHSHUND
I purchased this for my 8yr old mini dachshund, who becomes very stressed out whenever I leave him. He gets so bad that no one wants to watch him for me because they get stressed out! I really wanted/needed to go on vacation for a couple of weeks and convinced a friend to stay in my house with the dog with the promise that I would use this collar because it truly works. At the time I had no idea if it would or not, lol, I just hoped for the best. Thank goodness it did work!! Both the dog and friend were able to relax with each other. It did exactly as it promised. THANK YOU ENTIRELYPETS.
Review 19 for ADAPTIL (DAP) Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Medium & Large
This review is fromADAPTIL D.A.P. Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Small.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
my dog is happier
By:
Date:May 8, 2015
 frommexico
Pet:Dog
Breed:shih-tzu
My dog seems to be much better wearing the Adaptil collar. I bought it because where I live there are lots of fireworks and thunderstorms so thought I would give the collar a try. So far he seems happier and calmer without losing any personality. The true test will come when a thunderstorm hits. I bought 2 collars so we would have a longer time to see if the collar works during real stressful times.
Review 20 for ADAPTIL (DAP) Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Medium & Large
This review is from3 Pack ADAPTIL (DAP) Collar for Medium & Large Dogs.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No difference
By:
Date:April 13, 2015
Pet:Dog
Breed:MIxed
The adaptil made no difference in my dogs behavior. She is still frightened of everything.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>