EntirelyPets Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

ADAPTIL D.A.P. Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Small

Average Customer Rating:
3.905 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (179 reviews)
5 stars
95
4 stars
39
3 stars
4
2 stars
15
1 star
26
123 out of 163(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ADAPTIL D.A.P. Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Small
Review 1 for ADAPTIL D.A.P. Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Small
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
thank goodness this product exists
By:parsley
Date:May 18, 2015
 fromNEWBURGH, NY
Pet:Dog
Breed:MINI DACHSHUND
I purchased this for my 8yr old mini dachshund, who becomes very stressed out whenever I leave him. He gets so bad that no one wants to watch him for me because they get stressed out! I really wanted/needed to go on vacation for a couple of weeks and convinced a friend to stay in my house with the dog with the promise that I would use this collar because it truly works. At the time I had no idea if it would or not, lol, I just hoped for the best. Thank goodness it did work!! Both the dog and friend were able to relax with each other. It did exactly as it promised. THANK YOU ENTIRELYPETS.
Review 2 for ADAPTIL D.A.P. Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Small
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
my dog is happier
By:stephinmexico
Date:May 8, 2015
 frommexico
Pet:Dog
Breed:shih-tzu
My dog seems to be much better wearing the Adaptil collar. I bought it because where I live there are lots of fireworks and thunderstorms so thought I would give the collar a try. So far he seems happier and calmer without losing any personality. The true test will come when a thunderstorm hits. I bought 2 collars so we would have a longer time to see if the collar works during real stressful times.
Review 3 for ADAPTIL D.A.P. Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Small
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product!!
By:Nicole
Date:April 10, 2015
 fromNew Jersey
Pet:Dog
Breed:Maltese
we have been using this product for years!! My dog had very bad anxiety and some behavioral issues....since we start using these collars he is a different dog...it doesn't take away there issues completely but it does make a huge difference. Would highly recommend !
Review 4 for ADAPTIL D.A.P. Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Small
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
collar failure
By:Dissatisfied
Date:April 8, 2015
Pet:Dog
Breed:Sheltie mix
The vet recommended that we try this collar to calm one of our dogs who barks at everything and is scared at noises in the house. It did not seem to make a difference at all on anything. Maybe if we had started when he was younger since he is 11 years old.
Review 5 for ADAPTIL D.A.P. Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Small
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
D.A.P. Collar
By:Mishka
Date:March 25, 2015
 fromFredericksburg, Texas
Pet:Dog
Breed:Pomeranian
Collar did absolutely nothing! Was a total waste of my time and money.
Review 6 for ADAPTIL D.A.P. Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Small
This review is from3 Pack ADAPTIL (DAP) Collar for Medium & Large Dogs.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No difference
By:MAT
Date:April 13, 2015
Pet:Dog
Breed:MIxed
The adaptil made no difference in my dogs behavior. She is still frightened of everything.
Review 7 for ADAPTIL D.A.P. Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Small
This review is from3 Packs ADAPTIL (DAP) Collar for Puppies and Small Dogs.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stopped my wife from getting rid of my dog
By:CT Murphy
Date:April 10, 2015
Pet:Dog
Well, maybe my wife wouldn't really have kicked him out but she no longer even threatens to do it. Our dog is pretty high strung. He marks in the house anytime he sees anything going on outside. He pees on anything plastic. He barks incessantly at even the breeze blowing through the trees. It was really bad. My vet recommended the Adaptil collar. The dog has worn it for three months and he's been great! No more peeing in the house. Doesn't bark nearly as much. He still won't tolerate birds or squirrels in his yard but he's otherwise the same fun, active dog he was.
Review 8 for ADAPTIL D.A.P. Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Small
This review is from3 Packs ADAPTIL (DAP) Collar for Puppies and Small Dogs.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worth its weight in gold
By:Ellie
Date:April 9, 2015
Pet:Dog
Breed:Toy Poodle
This sounds cliche, but adaptil has been a lifesaver for my toy poodle. I have considered putting him down several times because of his snappiness which we knew was related to anxiety, but couldn't figure out how to solve. We tried many things, but nothing comes close to these collars. I have my snuggle bug back! For years, he wouldn't allow me to pick him up and regularly tried to bite me if i startled him, tried to give him meds or a bath. Now I pick him up, massage his arthritic legs, snuggle with him. I have my old dog back. I'm so grateful to Adaptil. Poor thing -- the whole time, he was just suffering so much from anxiety that he was super irritable. And because his anxiety is down, his GERD/reflux is down, which means his collapsing trachea cough has decreased and his GI works better. What a boon.
Review 9 for ADAPTIL D.A.P. Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Small
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Didn't Work
By:Jean
Date:February 21, 2015
 fromIndiana
Pet:Dog
Breed:Mixed terrier
Unfortunately, this collar did nothing for my mixed breed terrier. He is still jumpy and still barks at every little thing! There was no difference in his disposition. Any noise and he is barking and in "attack" mode!!! Collar did not work.
Review 10 for ADAPTIL D.A.P. Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Small
This review is from3 Packs ADAPTIL (DAP) Collar for Puppies and Small Dogs.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think they are helping
By:Jack Lover
Date:March 18, 2015
 fromVienna, VA
Pet:Dog
Breed:Jack Russell Terrier
I purchased the DAP collars for my two Jack Russells, one of whom is a problem. At the same time I have been working on training the dogs not to jump and to stay. The training is progressing so maybe the collars are helping, it is really just hard to tell. I have to put the dogs in the kennel at the end of the month so I'm glad I have more collars, hoping it will make the transition easier for them.
Review 11 for ADAPTIL D.A.P. Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Small
This review is from3 Pack ADAPTIL (DAP) Collar for Medium & Large Dogs.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Useless
By:DOG MOM
Date:March 15, 2015
Pet:Dog
Breed:2 abrador retrievers, one mixed breed
This collar is totally useless. I got it for my hyper Lab - it did nothing but make him itch! I shortened it and tried it on my equally hyper mixed breed female - Nada, Zip, Nothing. I am VERY disappointed in this product.
Review 12 for ADAPTIL D.A.P. Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Small
This review is from3 Packs ADAPTIL (DAP) Collar for Puppies and Small Dogs.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Try it you won't be sorry
By:Sherry
Date:March 14, 2015
 fromMidwest
Pet:Dog
Breed:Two terrier mixes
very nervous and had separation anxiety and also submissive urination. (She was a rescue and we don't know how badly she was abused or neglected.) Also our other dog was a two time return to a shelter and she wasn't happy with Becca coming into our home. So we got the collars and plug ins etc. They worked wonders and though we hadn't expected it, Becca's submissive urination has almost disappeared. Mostly I wanted both dogs to be less stressed as this can cause health problems. They are definitely benefiting from the collar and the plug-ins. Money well spent for the health and welfare of your pet and you.
Review 13 for ADAPTIL D.A.P. Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Small
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Purchase Ever
By:Barbara
Date:January 28, 2015
Pet:Dog
Breed:Greyhound
I have purchased 3 of the Adaptil Collars for our new Greyhound and have found it to be very helpful in his behavior. It was recommended to me by a dog behavior specialist and it works well for our boy. I will be getting this again in the future.
Review 14 for ADAPTIL D.A.P. Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Small
This review is from3 Pack ADAPTIL (DAP) Collar for Medium & Large Dogs.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Takes the edge off
By:LindaLu
Date:March 9, 2015
 fromFlorissant, MO
Pet:Dog
Breed:Pit Bull Terrier
This product was recommended by my dog's behavioral specialist (doggy shrink) to help her calm down and be more satisfied (in addition to Prozac). It does seem to take the edge off and I can tell when the collar has passed its expiration of a month. I'll use anything that works to make our living arrangement better and be able to keep both of my dogs.
Review 15 for ADAPTIL D.A.P. Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Small
This review is from3 Packs ADAPTIL (DAP) Collar for Puppies and Small Dogs.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adaptil Collar
By:kwebsd
Date:March 8, 2015
Pet:Dog
Breed:Pomepoo
My dog has really bad anxiety. These collars help when we are gone during the day to keep her from barking and upsetting the neighbors. We have recommended them to friends when they moved with their dog, and it helped with the dog to adjust to the new place.
Review 16 for ADAPTIL D.A.P. Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Small
This review is fromADAPTIL (DAP) Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Medium & Large.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Calms nicely, not tolerated though
By:Krissy
Date:January 30, 2015
 fromNew York, NY
Pet:Dog
Breed:Pekingese
My very sweet but anxious Pekingese calmed very nicely to the collar. However, she was so agitated by the feel of it that she scratched her skin raw around the collar in less than 24 hours. I needed to take it off, take care of the wound, and not use it anymore sadly.
Review 17 for ADAPTIL D.A.P. Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Small
This review is from3 Pack ADAPTIL (DAP) Collar for Medium & Large Dogs.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Value
By:Jamin
Date:January 22, 2015
 fromMurphy, Texas
Pet:Dog
Breed:Doberman
Comparable to a local purchase made at a vet clinic, but less expensive.
Been using the product for almost three months. Since we noticed a marked improvement in our Doberman's behavior in the first 24 hours of her wearing it, we were sold. Next, I'm going to try replacing sooner than four weeks. I see a decline in its effectiveness after a week based on how she behaves in weekly dog training, so it could be other factors, of course. We'll tweak the replacement schedule until we find what works best.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 18 for ADAPTIL D.A.P. Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Small
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Too many variables to tell
By:Scruffy
Date:September 21, 2014
 fromCedar Rapids, IA
Pet:Dog
Breed:Jack Russell mix
I bought this collar to see if it would help a senior dog stop panting, not have accidents while we were away and at nighttime, and to help her to settle down at night. After a week, there was no difference. The vet decided to try 2 antibiotics to see if there was an undetected infection she obtained after getting her teeth cleaned (the issues started after the procedure). The panting stopped after 2 days, but not being able to settle down and accidents have been pretty much the same.
So what helped with the constant panting? My guess is probably the antibiotics, not the collar.
I did buy the DAP diffuser to plug in at night and while we are away after the collar's time wore out. It does seem to be helping a bit with inappropriate elimination.
Review 19 for ADAPTIL D.A.P. Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Small
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very disappointed in the Adaptil D.A.P. Collar
By:runninwyld
Date:September 4, 2014
 fromHannibal, NY
Pet:Multiple Pets
Breed:1 mini doxie and 1 beagle
I ordered this collar to try to calm my son's beagle enough to train her to simple commands. It seemed to calm her for about a day and a half. Then she was back to her wild, unruly self again. I am finally having some luck with basics without any aids of any kind. I feel this collar was a waste of money that I couldn't really afford on my SS check.
Review 20 for ADAPTIL D.A.P. Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Small
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adaptil Collar for small dogs
By:Pico
Date:August 24, 2014
 fromVancouver, British Columbia
Pet:Dog
Breed:Part Maltese and Yorkshire Terrier
This collar works very well on my Morkie! It helps to calm him when he is anxious and excited!
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>