EntirelyPets Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

ADAPTIL D.A.P. Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Small

Average Customer Rating:
3.911 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (191 reviews)
5 stars
101
4 stars
43
3 stars
4
2 stars
15
1 star
28
133 out of 175(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ADAPTIL D.A.P. Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Small
Review 1 for ADAPTIL D.A.P. Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Small
This review is fromADAPTIL (DAP) Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Medium & Large.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Helps reduce anxiety and hyperactivity
By:
Date:August 24, 2015
Pet:Dog
Breed:Doxie-mix & Flat-coated Retriever
I have found the collar to be very effective as a calming product for several of my dogs.
Review 2 for ADAPTIL D.A.P. Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Small
This review is from3 Pack ADAPTIL (DAP) Collar for Medium & Large Dogs.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adaptil DAP collar - worked wonders for us
By:
Date:August 10, 2015
Pet:Dog
Breed:Mix - Boxer/Golden Lab
This is a non-drug product that is meant for dogs who suffer from raised levels of anxiety. We purchased the DAP collar which are made of plastic impregnated with the pheromone that a female dog releases when she is lactating and needs to calm down her puppies. The same pheromone also calms down other dogs in the vicinity of a lactating female. We noticed a marked difference in our dog's stress indicators within a day of using the collar.
The collars are not cheap (running from $25 to $50 per collar) but if your dogs are always on edge and you don't want to use drugs to calm them down, this collar is worth a try.
My suggestion would be to get the first collar from your vet, along with instructions about how to best use it and what to look for to notice a difference in behavior.
If you are happy with the first collar, then I suggest buying any further collars on-line (they only last for a month). EntirelyPets shipped promptly and the product we received was exactly as ordered. We are very pleased.
Review 3 for ADAPTIL D.A.P. Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Small
This review is fromADAPTIL (DAP) Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Medium & Large.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adaptil Collar
By:
Date:August 8, 2015
 fromSt. Cloud, FL
Pet:Dog
Breed:Mixes
I am very pleased with this product. My 13 year young has been terrified of storms her whole life. She would shake & hide the entire night. We have other calming Products (Pet Calm), but having to give it to all 4 of the Dogs. This collar has calmed the eldest & in turn stopped the others from reacting also. I still keep Pet Calm on hand & I have not used this product in a Firework Situation yet.
This Product did not work for Our Boy getting Agitated (Dogs playing in yard next to course & barking dogs in the Professional Kennel) at Agility Class..... I hope this is helpful to others : )
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 4 for ADAPTIL D.A.P. Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Small
This review is from3 Pack ADAPTIL (DAP) Collar for Medium & Large Dogs.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works Well
By:
Date:August 3, 2015
 fromFlorida
Pet:Dog
Breed:Red on White Setter
Collars seem to work fine for thunderstorms that are not right on top of you. Really close strikes still make the dog a bit jumpy. However still worth the money for what it does.
Review 5 for ADAPTIL D.A.P. Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Small
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DAP collar
By:
Date:June 16, 2015
 fromHouston
Pet:Dog
Breed:Maltese
Did not help my Maltese on her travel in airplane or car or house
Review 6 for ADAPTIL D.A.P. Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Small
This review is from3 Packs ADAPTIL (DAP) Collar for Puppies and Small Dogs.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Calmer and Happier dog
By:
Date:July 23, 2015
 fromGrand Rapids, MI
Pet:Dog
Breed:Terrier-mixed
My dog has always been very nervous. He often seems depressed and is afraid of his own shadow. He is a rescue, but after many years of working with him my vet recommended Adaptil. I was very skeptical but after a very short period of time he was noticeably happier. Even family members that see him only a few times of year commented that he seemed happier. It is a great product that has made my dog's quality of life much better.
Review 7 for ADAPTIL D.A.P. Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Small
This review is from3 Packs ADAPTIL (DAP) Collar for Puppies and Small Dogs.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Product
By:
Date:July 14, 2015
 fromCharleston, SC
Pet:Dog
Breed:Lhaso
If you have an over active dog with a little attitude, this is the collar she or he needs. I use it, and I can tell when it is time to change it. Never leave it on you animal, follow directions.
Review 8 for ADAPTIL D.A.P. Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Small
This review is fromADAPTIL (DAP) Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Medium & Large.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Seems to help
By:
Date:July 12, 2015
Pet:Dog
Breed:Lab
Our 10 yr old lab has become more anxious as she's gotten older. This collar seems to take the edge off. It's not a dramatic change, but she seems a bit more relaxed.
Review 9 for ADAPTIL D.A.P. Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Small
This review is from3 Packs ADAPTIL (DAP) Collar for Puppies and Small Dogs.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
3 Pack Adaptil small dogs
By:
Date:July 4, 2015
Pet:Dog
calms my dog right down and lasts the entire month. great alt to medication for dogs with problems.
Review 10 for ADAPTIL D.A.P. Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Small
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
thank goodness this product exists
By:
Date:May 18, 2015
 fromNEWBURGH, NY
Pet:Dog
Breed:MINI DACHSHUND
I purchased this for my 8yr old mini dachshund, who becomes very stressed out whenever I leave him. He gets so bad that no one wants to watch him for me because they get stressed out! I really wanted/needed to go on vacation for a couple of weeks and convinced a friend to stay in my house with the dog with the promise that I would use this collar because it truly works. At the time I had no idea if it would or not, lol, I just hoped for the best. Thank goodness it did work!! Both the dog and friend were able to relax with each other. It did exactly as it promised. THANK YOU ENTIRELYPETS.
Review 11 for ADAPTIL D.A.P. Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Small
This review is fromADAPTIL (DAP) Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Medium & Large.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wonderful product
By:
Date:June 22, 2015
Pet:Dog
Breed:Chow mix
Our 14 year old chow has been frightened by thunderstorms and fireworks for years! We usually have to give her a calming medication which would last about 4 hours. With the collar, she is calm and able to go without the medicine most of the time! Very pleased that we don't have the wee hour wake up whine!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 12 for ADAPTIL D.A.P. Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Small
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
my dog is happier
By:
Date:May 8, 2015
 frommexico
Pet:Dog
Breed:shih-tzu
My dog seems to be much better wearing the Adaptil collar. I bought it because where I live there are lots of fireworks and thunderstorms so thought I would give the collar a try. So far he seems happier and calmer without losing any personality. The true test will come when a thunderstorm hits. I bought 2 collars so we would have a longer time to see if the collar works during real stressful times.
Review 13 for ADAPTIL D.A.P. Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Small
This review is from3 Pack ADAPTIL (DAP) Collar for Medium & Large Dogs.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sorry to say this did not work at all on my golden
By:
Date:June 15, 2015
 fromrome ny
Pet:Dog
Breed:golden retriever
He still shook from fear like crazy during thunderstorms and fireworks both.
Review 14 for ADAPTIL D.A.P. Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Small
This review is from3 Packs ADAPTIL (DAP) Collar for Puppies and Small Dogs.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worth every penny
By:
Date:June 3, 2015
 fromHouston, TX
Pet:Dog
Breed:Cocker/dachshund mix
This product is wonderful. Calmed our dog within minutes after putting it on her.
Review 15 for ADAPTIL D.A.P. Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Small
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product!!
By:
Date:April 10, 2015
 fromNew Jersey
Pet:Dog
Breed:Maltese
we have been using this product for years!! My dog had very bad anxiety and some behavioral issues....since we start using these collars he is a different dog...it doesn't take away there issues completely but it does make a huge difference. Would highly recommend !
Review 16 for ADAPTIL D.A.P. Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Small
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
collar failure
By:
Date:April 8, 2015
Pet:Dog
Breed:Sheltie mix
The vet recommended that we try this collar to calm one of our dogs who barks at everything and is scared at noises in the house. It did not seem to make a difference at all on anything. Maybe if we had started when he was younger since he is 11 years old.
Review 17 for ADAPTIL D.A.P. Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Small
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
D.A.P. Collar
By:
Date:March 25, 2015
 fromFredericksburg, Texas
Pet:Dog
Breed:Pomeranian
Collar did absolutely nothing! Was a total waste of my time and money.
Review 18 for ADAPTIL D.A.P. Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Small
This review is from3 Pack ADAPTIL (DAP) Collar for Medium & Large Dogs.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No difference
By:
Date:April 13, 2015
Pet:Dog
Breed:MIxed
The adaptil made no difference in my dogs behavior. She is still frightened of everything.
Review 19 for ADAPTIL D.A.P. Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Small
This review is from3 Packs ADAPTIL (DAP) Collar for Puppies and Small Dogs.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stopped my wife from getting rid of my dog
By:
Date:April 10, 2015
Pet:Dog
Well, maybe my wife wouldn't really have kicked him out but she no longer even threatens to do it. Our dog is pretty high strung. He marks in the house anytime he sees anything going on outside. He pees on anything plastic. He barks incessantly at even the breeze blowing through the trees. It was really bad. My vet recommended the Adaptil collar. The dog has worn it for three months and he's been great! No more peeing in the house. Doesn't bark nearly as much. He still won't tolerate birds or squirrels in his yard but he's otherwise the same fun, active dog he was.
Review 20 for ADAPTIL D.A.P. Collar - Dog Appeasing Pheromone Small
This review is from3 Packs ADAPTIL (DAP) Collar for Puppies and Small Dogs.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worth its weight in gold
By:
Date:April 9, 2015
Pet:Dog
Breed:Toy Poodle
This sounds cliche, but adaptil has been a lifesaver for my toy poodle. I have considered putting him down several times because of his snappiness which we knew was related to anxiety, but couldn't figure out how to solve. We tried many things, but nothing comes close to these collars. I have my snuggle bug back! For years, he wouldn't allow me to pick him up and regularly tried to bite me if i startled him, tried to give him meds or a bath. Now I pick him up, massage his arthritic legs, snuggle with him. I have my old dog back. I'm so grateful to Adaptil. Poor thing -- the whole time, he was just suffering so much from anxiety that he was super irritable. And because his anxiety is down, his GERD/reflux is down, which means his collapsing trachea cough has decreased and his GI works better. What a boon.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>