EntirelyPets Ratings and Reviews

Cat Supplies(5,489)
Dog Supplies(12,071)
Dog Toys(2,364)
Harnesses(73)
Shop Now At EntirelyPets
Shop Pet Care Products for Dogs or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Bottom's Up Leash - RED

Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
5 out of 7(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bottom's Up Leash - RED
Review 1 for Bottom's Up Leash - RED
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bottoms up leash
By:Debbie
Date:May 21, 2013
 fromHomer, Ak
Pet:Dog
Breed:Lab/Rottweiler mix
Good Idea except it didn't fit my large dog. It will need to be modified before I can use it, no way to get the straps on the dog without working his legs through it, when they can't stand on injured legs it is no help at all. It needs to clip on around legs for ease in use both for the dog and the owner. It might work well for smaller dogs that can be easily lifted and maneuvered but not on large breed.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Bottom's Up Leash - RED
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VERY helpful!
By:Suzi
Date:May 1, 2013
 fromOrange
Pet:Multiple Pets
Breed:dalmatian
My dal suffers from a disc injury that has left him with limited mobility in his rear legs. With this harness we can once again enjoy taking walks together!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Bottom's Up Leash - RED
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just what I needed.
By:MarkW
Date:April 7, 2013
 fromBuffalo, New York
Pet:Dog
Breed:Mixed but looks like a little bear.
This was just the product I needed for my 16 year old dog who just lost about 80% use of his back right leg to arthritis. I had made a crude but functional leash out of some workout bands and an old leash but this is just what the doctor ordered. I'm trying to keep him off of using a cart for as long as I can and this is just the thing to do it. With a little support from me he gets out to see his friends twice a day and then some. Thanks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 4 for Bottom's Up Leash - RED
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
not for large dogs
By:carl
Date:March 29, 2013
 frompgh
Pet:Dog
Breed:st. bernard
I purchased this leash for my St. Bernard, it says it fits ups to 125lb dog, this is not for xlarge dogs, need to carry more items for xlarge dogs with walking trouble
Review 5 for Bottom's Up Leash - RED
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nothing could bring me such extreme happiness as
By:toria
Date:September 19, 2012
 fromNorth Vernon In
Pet:Dog
Breed:golden lab,chow,boxer and ?
you have a step up to heaven Mr Arnie Costell, My story is close to yours,my other type of soul mate, 16 yrs old golden lab,chow,& ?, Bruce is now able to walk stairs,and mark his domain, his ears are perky, his tail is held high, we are sooo! happy again. Thank you for many more memories with Bruce. The bottoms up leash you invented can give many dogs more time to spend with their families,and it worked first time,easy placement & he is proud again xxxooo toria THANK-YOU
Review 6 for Bottom's Up Leash - RED
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product
By:Greg
Date:February 16, 2012
 fromLancaster, PA.
Pet:Dog
Breed:Basset Hound
This product is sturdy and well made. The straps stay where they are adjusted to. My dogs front is still in good shape and with this he can still get around and go to the bathroom.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 7 for Bottom's Up Leash - RED
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buddy not yet ready
By:Paddy
Date:February 4, 2012
Pet:Dog
Breed:yellow lab
I bought this for our 10 yr old lab because he seemed to be dragging his hind legs. But I think he is not yet ready for us to support him. He prefers to drag himself up on his own steam as of now.
But I suspect he might let us help him in another 6 months.
Review 8 for Bottom's Up Leash - RED
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lifesaver
By:CC and Mo
Date:May 4, 2009
Been using this 9 months. My baby has degenerative disc disease and we use this 5 days a week for our 1 - 1 1/2 mile walks at the bay. We've educated many people about how a dog's quality of life can be much improved. He will be 13 years old this Thurs. (May 7th). Thank you so much for allowing us more time with our boy. His acupuncture doctor agrees :) EXERCISE is the best medicine and he has been able to do that. PAWS to you!
Review 9 for Bottom's Up Leash - RED
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not for stifle surgery patients
By:Copper's Mom
Date:September 4, 2008
Don't buy this if you need something to assist your dog after stifle (knee) surgery. This product might be good for dogs who need support walking, but it has not been of any use to us. Our vet recommended buying some type of harness for our 11 year old, 65 pound dog when he was going to have surgery on his second stifle. We discovered when we picked him up after the operation that the harness would rub the incision, so we couldn't use it at all when it was most needed during his healing process. $50 wasted. After he healed, our dog usually does fine walking but still has trouble getting up and with the many stairs in our house. Of course the harness is always somewhere else when he wants to get up or go up or down steps, so we improvise. He figured out how to go down on his own but is more confident if someone walks next to him grasping the built-in handle (aka tail). We don't put any tension on the tail but simply are ready to use it to keep him from falling. Going up, he walks his front up while we carry his rear. Our smart dog comes to get us to help when he wants to go up or down now. The harness was on him just once before the surgery to try it on and adjust it, but it's never been used since.
Review 10 for Bottom's Up Leash - RED
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WONDERFUL!
By:Martha H.
Date:July 31, 2008
I spoke to you Friday about our order for our Golden Retriever, Christy. Guess what? It arrived today. We have already used it on her, it is WONDERFUL! Thank you so much.
Review 11 for Bottom's Up Leash - RED
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thank you so much!
By:Sandy and Nitro
Date:July 31, 2008
Thank you for the promptness of this order and also for mine last month. My first order was put in on a Thurs eve and I had it by Sat afternoon. This order was put in late Mon nite and I had it Thur morn. I brought it right over to this girl at the coffee shop that we've become good friends with over the years. She was so happy to have it. She said she has to lift up her dog's butt with her hands to get him up her stairs. She doesn't have any where near as many stairs as I have but it still is wear and tear on her back. I told her how great my Nitro was doing up and down 2 flights of stairs and wanting to keep walking. I told her what a great product you have and she was interested. She used it Thur afternoon and evening, by Friday she said he was doing pretty good she said he even looked like he was proud and confident. I can't wait to talk to her Monday to see how it went over the weekend.
I want to Thank you so much. I love my Nitro so much he is my "adopted son" I've had him since he was a 3 month (blk lab/shep/ border coll) pup. He's almost 16 yrs now and thanks to you and Bottom's Up Leash I can get him up and down the stairs longer. I kept praying for the lottery so I could buy a home for us so he wouldn't have to climb stairs, and I truly believe Nitro understands me and is waiting for that house. I felt that was my only option, and realistically that'll never happen but one can dream right? And when Nitro started getting worse and the arthritis was preventing him from getting up and down my stairs and watching him fall down a couple of stairs and even slip on the kitchen floor, and sometimes see him go to the bathroom on the floor, because he was afraid to go downstairs, to see him know he couldn't do what he used to and know how humiliated he must feel( I know it sounds nuts but I can see it in my boys eyes, I know what he's thinking and feeling) I was really getting myself sick, every time I took him outside I cried. He would bark to go out but he hesitated when he saw the stairs. Now he barks and he's very energetic (even just for a little while) he lets me put on the bottoms up leash and his lead leash and when I open the door he wants to run down right away. I am amazed. I have to try to keep up with him. You know what made me almost cry was the 2nd day that Nitro used the leash, he wanted to chase a squirrel? I told him you want to go get em? Let's go. And together we ran after a squirrel until (thank God) it ran up a tree. But to see Nitro's face light up and look with satisfaction that he scared a squirrel up a tree, it gave him his dignity back. I don't know what brought me to the computer or how I found your website, but I know it was nothing short of a miracle. I believe that your pal Watson is a little angel working miracles for people and dogs that have a very special bond. So again thank you!
Review 12 for Bottom's Up Leash - RED
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't imagine how either of us would survived without it!
By:Lisa
Date:July 31, 2008
My 10-year old Cardigan Welsh Corgi, Koa, suffered a herniated disc in January 2007. Even after surgery he hasn't fully regained the use of his back right leg. My back was killing me trying to bend down low enough to help him outside. I tried using a towel and other things but, being a male dog, he couldn't/wouldn't urinate using one of these items. This sling has been an amazing thing for both of us! Koa still doesn't have full use of his back right leg but with the aid of the sling he is able to get around and is rebuilding his muscles every day. I can't imagine how either of us would have survived without it!
Review 13 for Bottom's Up Leash - RED
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Magic of the Leash
By:francis
Date:July 31, 2008
You assured me that your leash would help my old Aussie, Ollie, to stand up, even though he walks on his own. You may not know that the leash can do this without actually being placed on the dog. Through some mystical enhancement the Bottoms Up leash causes Ollie to get up (or most of the way, anyhow) before I even get it on him!
Although he takes pain medication and glucosamine he's stiff in the morning and after long periods of inactivity, but two times out of five he can get up without relying on the leash. Just starting to put it on gives him the 'boost' he needs to get up!
I think that Ollie is so suggestable that pain and fear have caused him to panic. Using the leash has caused an attitude adjustment!
Even when he does need the Bottoms Up and my help, once he is up and stabilized I just drop the lead and he walks out of the leash without any problem.
By the way, when I asked my vet about the Bottoms Up she showed me the one she bought. She has only had it a few weeks but likes it for post surgical use.
Thanks again for a really helpful product. Like I said, It's Magic!

FR, San Antonio Texas