EntirelyPets Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At EntirelyPets
Shop Pet Care Products for Cats or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Oratene Maintenance Oral Gel (2.5 oz)

Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
29 out of 30(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Oratene Maintenance Oral Gel (2.5 oz)
Review 1 for Oratene Maintenance Oral Gel (2.5 oz)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gel for my dog's teeh
By:Dog+Cat Fanatic
Date:April 3, 2014
 fromPortland, OR
Pet:Multiple Pets
Breed:mixed breed
Wonderful product for my older dog! I use it nightly on his teeth.
Review 2 for Oratene Maintenance Oral Gel (2.5 oz)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:Mel
Date:March 9, 2014
Pet:Dog
Breed:Chihuahua
My Chihuahuas don't hesitate to brush their teeth!
Review 3 for Oratene Maintenance Oral Gel (2.5 oz)
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Why has the brand name changed?
By:MrsD
Date:December 9, 2013
 fromPA
Pet:Cat
I purchased this & the antispetic gel religiously for my kitties' dental care. I am curious as to why they are now sold under the brand name "Oratene", instead of the previous "Biotene"? I researched a well known & reputable pet Rx site, & they still stock the "Biotene" brand gels. The past 2 tubes I have purchased pkg'd under the "Oratene" brand, have NOT worked as well as the gels pkg'd under "Biotene" did. For this reason, I can no longer recommend this product. EP's needs to explain why a product has changed it's brand name, in the product description section.
Review 4 for Oratene Maintenance Oral Gel (2.5 oz)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
oratene maintenance gel
By:may jo j.
Date:October 30, 2013
 fromohio
Pet:Dog
Breed:greyhounds and borzoi
I use this nightly on my 2 greyhounds and 1 borzoi.They build tartar/plaque quick and this helps to avoid periodontal disease.
Review 5 for Oratene Maintenance Oral Gel (2.5 oz)
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
oral health maitenance
By:madz
Date:October 27, 2013
 fromDanvers, MA
Pet:Cat
too early to tell if it's working or not, but i consider this as one of my pets daily health maintenance
Review 6 for Oratene Maintenance Oral Gel (2.5 oz)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great LIFE LONG product for your best friend
By:MsHollywood
Date:October 15, 2013
 fromNovelty Ohio
Pet:Multiple Pets
Breed:jack russells
I have used biotene on past pets and currently will start new puppies. I am not a fan of putting my dog to sleep to clean the teeth.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 7 for Oratene Maintenance Oral Gel (2.5 oz)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended by my vet
By:evekitti
Date:June 27, 2013
 fromSingapore
Pet:Cat
I bought a tube at my vet's (previously known as Biotene) and it helped my geriatric cat's gums, which were a bit inflamed because of receding gum on her canine. At 22, there's no way I'd let the vet sedate her to clean her teeth. So this was the other option. I think it's tasteless because my cat doesn't foam like she usually does when she tastes something she doesn't like.
Review 8 for Oratene Maintenance Oral Gel (2.5 oz)
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:smokey
Date:June 26, 2013
Pet:Multiple Pets
if you put the recommended size stripe of this on your pet, it won't last very long at all, especially if you have a big dog. I am using it in conjunction with the Oratene Drinking Water Additive. I use it on the 2 dogs whose teeth were the worst. Now all my dogs teeth are beautiful, though it is hard to say how much of that success can be contributed to the Maintenance Gel vs. a combo of both, since I used both. You have to be patient. I thought it wasn't doing much, but stuck with it and got results. None of my dogs teeth were really bad though, even the ones whose teeth had a little more tartar.
Review 9 for Oratene Maintenance Oral Gel (2.5 oz)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Only thing that helps
By:WahineWinna
Date:May 23, 2013
 fromHonolulu, Hawaii
Pet:Dog
Breed:Maltese
I've tried a series of antibiotics and mouthwashes on my Maltese and none seemed to help him. Once I started using the Oratene Maintenance Oral Gel he got better right away.
Review 10 for Oratene Maintenance Oral Gel (2.5 oz)
6 of 12 found this review helpful.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very good for relief
By:Justine
Date:March 3, 2013
 fromLos Angeles
Pet:Multiple Pets
Breed:domestic shorthair
I have a older cat with major gum inflammation from stomatitis. She drools all over the bed and her mouth is beet red. There was the odor of bacteria also on the bedspread. This product has given her a great deal of relief. I really feel the pain has subsided somewhat. There is no subsitute for vet care, but this has helped in the interim.
Review 11 for Oratene Maintenance Oral Gel (2.5 oz)
5 of 11 found this review helpful.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works Great
By:MiT
Date:February 19, 2013
 fromSacramento, CA
Pet:Cat
Breed:Tabby
When my 2 1/2 yr old male was about six months old, he had severe gingivitis. There's a technical term that I cannot remember. My vet did the scraping surgery and it didn't help. He prescribed the maintenance gel after a two week course of Biotene Antiseptic gel. Ricky loves the taste of it, and his gums are in great shape now thanks to Biotene Maintenace gel.
Review 12 for Oratene Maintenance Oral Gel (2.5 oz)
6 of 12 found this review helpful.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Biotene Works !!!!
By:Dan
Date:December 11, 2012
 fromPort Ludlow Wa.
Pet:Dog
Breed:Daschund (mini)
Just returned from an annual veterinarian exam with my Doxy - Lena. I have been brushing her teeth with Biotene daily ever since she had a large number of extractions due to dental carries at age four last year. A clean bill of health and lack of dental problems has been the result !!
Review 13 for Oratene Maintenance Oral Gel (2.5 oz)
6 of 12 found this review helpful.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best with Oral B Sonicare Compact Head
By:Ruthe
Date:December 9, 2012
 fromMichigan
Pet:Dog
Breed:Maltese and Yorkie
Keeps all three of my girls' teeth pretty clean with daily use. Haven't had dentals in a long time.
Review 14 for Oratene Maintenance Oral Gel (2.5 oz)
7 of 13 found this review helpful.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good for their mouth
By:Lynn
Date:November 28, 2012
Pet:Cat
Breed:5 strays/rescues
Again, vet recommended this product. Helps with keeping their mouth cleaner and teeth in better shape. We use on our cats at night when we take up their food so it works in their mouth overnight to preserve their teeth/gums. Since we can't brush their teeth, this is next best thing.
Review 15 for Oratene Maintenance Oral Gel (2.5 oz)
6 of 12 found this review helpful.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best product ever
By:TinyKitty
Date:November 18, 2012
 fromHonolulu, HI
Pet:Cat
Breed:short-hair tabby
My cat suffers from severe and chronic gingivitis so I tried the Biotene products and love them. I think my cat does, too, and they seem to be working in stabilizing his gingivitis. Great products.
Review 16 for Oratene Maintenance Oral Gel (2.5 oz)
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Dental Product
By:Grandma
Date:November 7, 2012
Pet:Multiple Pets
Breed:canine and felines
Triple enzyme combination, just as that of Zymox products, natural, no harsh toxic chemicals and an excellent cleanser. Easy to use, safe for both dogs and cats. I love it!
Review 17 for Oratene Maintenance Oral Gel (2.5 oz)
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works well if you actually brush pet's teeth
By:Bunny
Date:November 6, 2012
 fromSouthern CA
Pet:Dog
Breed:I have 2 Maltese
Tried several of the spray on type products but they were not effective. This works very well but you need to brush with it. I tasted it before using it on my Maltese & it has no taste....so it is not a problem. However, brushing is the only way to clean their teeth & with this in mind, it is a very good product & would definitely recommend it.
Review 18 for Oratene Maintenance Oral Gel (2.5 oz)
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product
By:gma2seven gr8 kids
Date:October 29, 2012
Pet:Dog
Breed:Bichon
Helps keep fur where Toby licks from turning orange from the enzymes in his mouth
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 19 for Oratene Maintenance Oral Gel (2.5 oz)
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great stuff, works on tartar
By:Colbie
Date:August 6, 2012
 fromCA
Pet:Multiple Pets
Breed:Golden Retriever
I got this from my vet when my Golden had a lot of tartar and I didn't want to put her under at her age to clean her teeth. I started putting in on every night and within two weeks the tartar was gone and her fresh breath returned. Now I use this on all my dogs and cats.
Review 20 for Oratene Maintenance Oral Gel (2.5 oz)
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy & acceptable
By:Whispurr
Date:July 3, 2012
Pet:Cat
Usually I brush the cats' teeth everyday; however, it does get time consuming with six cats. Purchased Biotene since Biotene makes human products that I like very much. This is my first tube so I'm unable to say if it works as effectively on animals as humans. The cats don't mind the taste when I apply it with a cotton swab on to their gum-line.
1 2 next>>